Dilled Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lady Madonna
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Outstanding! 4 1/2 cups of vinegar was just barely enough for two pounds of garlic...Next time I'll probably use 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Definately a hit at the office and the local nationals here in Germany love it. I do cook the garlic briefly to speed up the process. Either way, it's good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I, like a previous reviewer, cringe at the idea of putting sugar in a pickled garlic recipe (or any "pickled" recipe for that matter!). I added 1 teaspoon mustard seed, 1 teaspoon celery seed, and increased the red pepper flakes to 1 teaspoon (for extra kick), and it is "to die for!" I've made this recipe with fresh dill (as the recipe called for), fresh sage and fresh oregano, and they are all soooo delicious! A little tip, if you separate the garlic into individual cloves, then put them into boiling water for about 30 seconds, then put them into a bowl of ice water, they are much easier to peel. Thank you Delevangal for a wonderful recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslie Sullivan
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was incredible! The garlic remained crunchy, and had just enough kick to keep people satisfied. Whenever I open a jar, they are gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Delicious, crunchy and spicy! FYI to other reviewers, sugar is a preservative, so while it's not necessary, it's helpful. It also brigns out the flavor of the garlic. I didn't have any cayenne so I put a dried Japanese chili pod in each jar. Hot and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These are absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe and added three full heads of fresh dill and three little dried red chinese peppers. I've been nibbling on them since I popped them in the fridge three hours ago. By the time they're fully seasoned, I'm afraid I won't have any left to appreciate the true cured flavor. I even cheated and bought already peeled garlic. It doesn't get any easier. That previous reviewer was quite right. It's not a harsh, unpalatable garlic flavor. It does really mellow. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
"Died and gone to heaven" ... that's the only way to describe this dilled garlic recipe. Thank you, thank you! I am a great fan of anything pickled, and I am a great fan of garlic, but everything that I tasted in the "pickled garlic" world fell very short of my expectaions. I suppose the problem is that so many recipes call for sugar --- and that's just wrong! I mean sugar ... garlic ... ooooooooohh, no... But this is everything you want: a nice little zing with the cayenne, fresh dill. It's a lovely appetizer, and I can't think how many rave reviews I've had. If I could give you more than 5 stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is so easy & tasty. Per the prior suggestions I did boil the garlic for 30 seconds and it was so easy to peal! My boyfriend said these were great and he liked the bite to them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I personally don't care for them, but love the smell! I made a big jar of these for my Dad for Christmas, and he LOVES them! He has dubbed them "Dragon's Teeth" since they turned blueish overnight. (After a mild freak-out, we looked it up online and garlic naturally will turn blue or purple sometimes when exposed to acids.) I used a teaspoon of Emeril's Essence as well as about half a teaspoon of straight cayenne powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Garlic heaven!!! I made 2 pint jars from this recipe...one to serve at one of our "Beast Feasts" and one to enter in the Alabama National Fair this year. I used 3 dried red peppers, a whole sprig of fresh dill, cracked black pepper and mustard seed suggested by one reviewer. Turned out absolutely beautiful (for the Fair) and the guests at the Beast Feast really chowed down on the ones I served them. I agree...sugar in a pickled recipe seems so wrong...and this one is delicious!!! Waterbathed the jars for 10 minutes so refrigeration is not needed until after opened. Update: this entry took 1st place in the dill pickle category!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States