Dilled Cucumber, Tomato and Celery Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Wonderful & refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful. I halved it for just the two of us. Did keep the 1/3 c. water, though, and just really kept checking the dill seed carefully. Only had cider vinegar but that was the only change. Very, very nice taste. Husband always makes a cucumber salad that is quick and easy with just bottled raspberry lite vinaigrette which is great, too. Was just looking for a little change and this did not disappoint. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
We grow a garden every summer and can't wait to try this with fresh veggies.It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I used skim milk in place of buttlermilk. And dill weed instead of running to the store for dill seed. My 9 yr old can't get enough of these cucumbers...and she puts them on her salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I tried this recipe and after the first bite I took I couldn't wait to take more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was the perfect compliment to our summer BBQ meal. It had a mild lovely flavor that calmed spicy sausages really nicely. Everyone loved it. I didn't read it clearly and forgot the mayo, so I used a bottle of light buttermilk ranch dressing with the honey and the dill and it came out fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Try using a bit more water (1/3-1/2 cup) and put a lid on the small pot while it simmers. Will keep most of the liquid, and flavor, that way. Let it cool sightly before adding the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skyye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
luv2cook is right- the water with dill seed evaporated and maybe scorched it. My husband thought I put Caraway seed in the dressing. It is a great combination of summer veggies...just need a different dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Oh no! Don't know what happened but this did NOT work. Are you sure that it is 1/3 cup of water to simmer the dill seed in? The water kept evaporating in the pan before the seeds had simmered for 10 minutes. Then I added the honey and dry buttermilk mix and ended up with globs of honey/seed/seasoning that would NOT whisk into the rest of the dressing mixture. UGH - this after I made a special trip to the grocery for dill SEED vs. dill WEED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I tried this recipe for supper one night it was sooooooooooo good!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States