Dill-Tarragon Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I have been eating salmon for years and always love it, but this was a great new way to cook it! I swapped dijon for mayo and used greek yogurt, both for personal preference. Also, instead of mixing it in, I topped the fish with mozzarella the last couple minutes it cooked. This was really good, but FYI- you only need a thin layer, too much and the flavor is overpowering. I made one heavy with the spread and one light, I preferred the lightly covered one better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was great, but I made quite a few changes. I only had 6 ounces of Greek-style plain yogurt, so I used that. Didn't use any cheese at all. Was pretty free with herbs. Instead of mayonnaise, I used Dijon mustard, especially since some reviews mentioned the sauce being kind of boring. Like another reviewer, I used quite a bit of lemon juice, both in the sauce and on the salmon. Seasoned salmon with salt and pepper in addition to lemon juice, and put in the refrigerator while sauce stood. Let sauce stand at room temperature for about 20 minutes, then added about 1 tablespoon of drained capers. Baked about 20 minutes. Salmon was a little underdone, but still very good. Sauce was great. Cooked this for friends, and they enjoyed it very much. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe except to salt and pepper the salmon with a squeeze of lemon juice as it sat at room temperature for a bit. Then I added the mix as written to the top. I was able to get the perfect piece of salmon from Costco--a fresh wild Cojo! This was a very satisfying dinner, and it would have been perfect with capers added to the topping. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Didn't use the mozzarella and used a little more lemon juice, Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was a different way to fix salmon not overly fond of the sauce.....it's not bad, but lacking something that i just can't put my finger on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
found this recipe about 1/2 hour before my friends showed up, used fresh dill no tarragon or mozzarella and a dash of wheat germ- easy and delicious, they thought i had slaved over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I omitted the mozarella cheese and added some garlic salt. Easy, healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Prepared this a little differently and it turned out fabulous. I mixed the yogurt, mayo, lemon, tarragon and dill together earlier in the day and let sit in fridge to allow the flavors to really blend together. I increased the amount of lemon (squeezed about a quarter of a whole lemon -- about 1/2 TBSP) because I find lemon really neutralizes any 'fishy' taste. I eliminated the mozzarella cheese entirely and did not mix in the parmesan cheese at this point. When it came time to bake, I spread the above mixture onto the fish and baked at 400 for 15 min. I then grated parmesan cheese on top of each fillet and placed under broiler to brown for about 3 minutes. It was excellent and my husband, who doesn't like salmon, really liked it prepared this way. Many thanks for the recipe idea, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I don't like fish or pasta, but this was very easy, quick and tasted delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
A quick easy weeknight dinner. I'm giving it three stars because while it was tasty, it didn't blow me away. I wouldn't serve it to company, but I'd make it again for a quick weeknight meal. I might do a last minute broil next time to see if I could get the cheese in the sauce to get crusty and crunchy... it needs a little something extra, so if anyone tries something different, I'd be curious to hear about it. Thanks for a solid recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States