Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I added celery and egg and that helped the recipe a lot. I also did 1/2 sour cream 1/2 mayo....as a true southern girl, I couldn't resist! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Bland....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was okay... we decided it would have been better with a little mayo mixed in, but we were out (how a southern girl runs out of mayo, I don't know!). I usually make a mayo based salad, which is much better, but we are trying to make more healthful choices. I used lowfat sour cream, and I did add a small handful of mozz cheese. We'll try it again with a spoonful of mayo added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORSFRIEND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Sorry. I followed the recipe exactly but his was very bland. Better to buy at grocery store or BBQ restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I am so pleased to find a recipe that doesn't use mayo! This is excellent. I added a green onion and used fresh parsley. Also, I didn't peel the potatoes -- much of their nutrients are in, or just below, their skin. Thanks for a great potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I just made this, and am rating it while still warm. I gave it 4 stars for the recipe as written, but I would give it 5 with these changes. This was really good with 2 TBS of FRESH parsley. (I kept adding more). I think this made it, for I had to use dry dill (fresh would have been better). I substituted a couple TBS. of mayo. This does need an acidic ingredient, which I added in the form of citric acid in the homemade dill dip mix I added. Lemon juice could substitute, with some instant minced onion and dry garlic. HINT: Make the dressing taste like a good salty dill dip that you like, THEN mix in! You shouldn't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is an excellent recipe though I’ve varied the ingredients slightly. I added one large sweet potato for a little extra colour and taste. I also reduced the amount of sour cream and replaced with mayonnaise as well as added slightly more dill weed then suggested. It’s a tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was super easy to make and delicious. I followed what another reviewer said and used 1 c. mayo and 1 c. sour cream. And also added some chopped scallions and celery. Using unpeeled red potatoes made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Yummy! I really hate mayo, so sour cream sounded great!! it was a little bland, but i added garlic, onion, and some other random spices i had in my kitchen and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I am having a party and my neice is allergic to eggs so I was looking for a good potato salad recipe without mayo. This is quite good. I used fresh parsley instead of dried because it's in my garden! I also added a tablespoon of white sugar which I think gave it the sweetness it was missing without mayo. Quite tasty even though I'm a real mayo fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raspberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States