Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
We make about 50-75 lbs of these pickles every year, now I can't get my kids to eat pickles at restaurants or store bought. I've created pickle snobs! I have found that soaking them in ice water and processing them for the required time and then getting them out on a cool night to cool off quickly, allows for a much more crisp pickle, don't over cook them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Verkerk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This is the only recipe I use for making dill pickles(and I have tried many). My batch is usually pretty small, so I do everything up to the water bath. Instead, I put a large jar in the refrigerator and let them cure in there for about 2 weeks. Crispy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These had the perfect crunchy texture, but they were very garlicky. I would call them garlic pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I like it better when the water has cooled. Other reviewers agree. I now make the recipe with whatever dill I have and sea salt. The smaller version is 3 parts water to 1 part white vinegar. Ajust sea salt and dill, and garlic. I like to add pickling spice. These don't last very long inour house. I like them the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
just perfect nice crunch and excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These were not very good, quite soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I never made pickles before. These were easy and pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Lovely! I waited a bit too long after harvest to process, so they didn't turn out as crunchy as I like, but that's my screwup. Next time I'll be more vigilant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These pickles are awesome made in hamburger slices.. I tried spears,whole, and slices.. Slices were the hit in my house.. They were eatting a jar a day... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Shay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Make sure you use pickling cucumbers. I did this recipe first with what was on hand - Marketmore slicer cucumbers I had grown. The flavor was good but they were mushy. Tried it again with pickling cucumbers purchased at Sprouts and they turned out fantastic. Crisp, flavorful, and better than any store-bought pickle I've had. I like to throw in some whole peppercorns and jalapeno slices for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States