Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
My daughter,who is VERY particular about pickles said,"Mom, you could sell these,and make a lot of money!"Well,I'll never sell them,but a lot of my lucky friends enjoy them.They are the Best, THE BEST.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I have looked for this recipe for years. Used to have it maybe 30 years ago. So glad to see it again. Anyone who makes them, will fall in love with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I grow my own pickling kukes and have been looking for a recipe like this, these have to be the BEST Homemade dill pickles I have ever tasted!!!crunchy!!! Easy too. You will love them! I added those little dried red peppers for a little more zip! I wanted to say THANK YOU to Sharon....Lola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFSWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Townsend, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
These pickles are great! It was really hard for me to wait the full two months to try them but I did and it was well worth the wait. I added some alum to the ice bath and then rinsed the pickles well before placing them in jars. I was really pleased with how crunchy the pickles turned out. I also placed the jarred pickles in a hot water bath for 10 minutes to seal the jars and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
We opened the first jars this week. They are wonderful. My husband said it was like reaching into the old pickle barrel and getting your treat. Wonderful recipe, awesome pickles. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
These are fabulous!!! My husband could only wait a week (instead of the recommended 8) before trying them, he liked them so much he canned another batch for me. Very crispy, similar to the "Kosher" store brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This is the first recipe we could find that actually resulted in crisp pickles. The spices need some adjusting for our taste but otherwise a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I have just found this recipe again. YEA! My daughter and I canned these pickles last fall and my family has requested them for next season. They want us to make as many as possible. Comments are "they are better than any brand that I have purchased." A beginner could have success with this 5 STAR RECIPE! MAY I GIVE THIS YEARS REVIEW. THEY NEVER FAIL. I BOUGHT A 1/2 A BUSHEL OF CUCS FROM THE LOCAL FARMERS MARKET AND I MADE 20 QTS. THEY TURNED OUT SOOOO CRISPY. IT HAS TO BE THE ICE COLD CUCS THAT DO IT. I AM TEMPTED TO ORDER MORE CUCS. THEY WILL GO FAST. I HOT WATER BATH FOR 5 MINS AND ALL SEALED WITHOUT SOGGINESS TO THE PICKLES. "I" NEED TO DO THIS TO INSURE A GOOD SEAL. THANK YOU AGAIN FOR THE PERFECT PICKLE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This is the best pickles ever......I waiting only one day before trying and they are wonderful already...It's not even one week and we have a whole jar gone....will make more for sure...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYTRACKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
The flavor of these pickles is awesome! Mine turned out pretty mushy though, but I only soaked them for 2 hours. I would recommend soaking as long as you can! I will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States