Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
AWESOME DILL PICKLES! First and last recipe I will use and they are crunchy! For added zip I added in a couple slices of jalepeno peppers (with seeds) and in each jar I also added a heaping 1/8th tsp each of dried mustard seed, dill seed, and celery seed. If you like really hot and spicy pickles add in a few dashes of red pepper flakes in addition to the jalepenos. I also believe there really is something to chilling the pickles before you start canning. The recipe states to wait 8 weeks before eating the pickles. I was so impatient the 1st time, I sampled them after 3 days. They were good, but the different spices had not blended and could be tasted separately. By waiting, the flavors combine and "mellow" into a more balanced (and great!) flavor. I waited 3 weeks before sampling another jar and they were definitely better than the ones I tried after 3 days. Pickles can be stored for a couple of years in a cool dry place like a pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1007 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These are absolutely the best pickles! To ensure a crisp pickle be sure to cut about 1/8" off the blossom end of each cuke because enzymes located there can cause soft pickles. I also like to chop up the garlic cloves and then just put about 1 teaspoon in each jar, rather than the whole cloves. If I have them, I also pop a fresh dill flower in the centre each jar after the cukes are in. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
647 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Wonderful! We make and can these every summer and always get rave reviews. I have found that picking the cucumbers when very small results in the crunchiest pickles. Also, you can substitute 1/3 Tbsp of dill seed for the dill head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I found this recipe was very easy to follow and I did follow it to a tee but they still turned out pretty mushy. I made sure that I filled the ice regularly and kept the pickles really cold for just over three hours. Does anyone have any hints?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
these are the best...and i dont do a hot bath with mine..it makes them soggy. And do not use a metal pan to boil your brin in. It causes cloudy water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bossa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hennessey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I have a couple of ?'s.#1 is the pickling salt, the same as pickling spice?. Second, i just can't find any dill head with the sprigs. Is it the same if i just use the fresh baby dill that is sold at the market. also how critical is it to have the dill head? please help me. I really want to try this recipe,I already have the cucumbers. I dont want them to start getting soft. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I finally opened my first jar last night and they were delicious. I was hoping for super crispy pickles, but suspect the hot bath method might have made them a bit soggy? It was my first attempt at canning, too, and this was a great way to be introduced. Thanks, Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
These pickles are great! It was really hard for me to wait the full two months to try them but I did and it was well worth the wait. I added some alum to the ice bath and then rinsed the pickles well before placing them in jars. I was really pleased with how crunchy the pickles turned out. I also placed the jarred pickles in a hot water bath for 10 minutes to seal the jars and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made these for the first time last year, they have a great taste and are exactly what I was looking for in a dill. I have a couple of questons. My pickles were not crispy at all. I grow my own cus, so I have to wait until I get a pretty good batch of them (this my be my cripsy problem)??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I have looked for this recipe for years. Used to have it maybe 30 years ago. So glad to see it again. Anyone who makes them, will fall in love with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States