Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Not as crispy as I would have liked, but the taste is perfect -- every bit as good as the most expensive from the specialty store shelves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made my first batch of these about 3-4 weeks ago, so they really haven't had enough brine time. I cheated a little on my last jar--I decided not to seal it and just make refrigerator pickles instead. I just was lazy, really, as my canner holds 7 jars and I didn't feel like canning the 8th jar. At any rate, I've tried the ones I made into refrigerator pickles and they are pretty good. Not fully flavored just yet--I can distinguish separate flavors, but still really good. I totally screwed up and used pickling spice instead of pickling salt. For those of you who are wondering, no, it's not the same thing. Pickling salt is actual salt without any impurities (so you can probably use regular salt in a pinch)--pickling spice has mustard seed, cloves, cinnamon, allspice, ginger, mace, and a few other ingredients I'm not remembering at this moment. So, this batch will be spicy in comparison to what the recipe reads but that's okay. I made another batch of these a week ago with actual pickling salt so we'll see how different that one is when I break open those jars. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great recipe. I did change the water-vinegar ratio to 1 part vinegar to 2 parts water. Made them zestier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
We all love these pickles. I wish I could make them crisper, but I know it's because I give them the full 20 minute water bath. I'm afraid of spoilage, even though I know others have done it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
HEAVEN - I AM IN DILL PICKLE HEAVEN!!!!!! Oh My Word - these truly ARE the BEST Dill Pickles that have ever crossed my lips. They're crispy, they're crunchy, a delcious delicacy & everything anyone could want in a perfect Dill Pickle. Definitely better than any store-bought. OK - so cheated & snuck a taste 2 days after they were canned & stuck that jar in the refrig to snack on. Got worried cause I cut the salt back to about 1/2 {per a reviewers comments about being a bit to salty} and then read sometimes that too little salt can make your pickles mushy. They are perfect! Plan to leave the rest alone until they've had time to develop their full-bodied flavor. Yummm - NOW I want to run & make MORE! They're so good unable to imagine going through the winter without being fully stocked! Thank You Sharon for this WONDERFUL RECIPE. Brings back memories of my favorite aunts dill pickles I always loved. Unfortunately she never shared hre recipe with me. FORTUNATELY for everyone - YOU DID! Thank You, Thank You, Thank YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
These are great. I actually made these a couple of days ago. I used mini seedless cucumbers and sliced some lengthwise and some in circles. I couldn't find fresh dill head so I only put the fresh sprigs in. I did add onion slices to the jar as well. Instead of doing the water bath, I inverted the jars and put a towel over them. The next morning all the jars had sealed except two. Those I put in the refrigerator and tried out today. They were delish after only a day or so! I can't wait for the others I put in the pantry. This is so easy to do for a first timer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Always my ONLY recipe to use when canning - I use the ice bath for 6 Hours when I can, but even just 2 hrs makes 100% difference with regards to crispness. I put 1/4 tsp of mustard seed and 1/2 a Jalapeno in each jar also (these will get spicier the longer they are stored :) Like most here my water bath time is way shorter -- usually about 8 minutes for me :) ... 95% usually seal by the next morning (and I hear that lovely pop in about half of the jars within the first hour, even ! ) Any that do not seal by morning, go right in the Fridge as Refrigerator pickles, which are the only true way to get that Claussen crisp -- however this canned recipe with the short water bath are the crispiest I've ever had, next to refrigerator pickles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I have used this recipe for 3 years now. Each time they have come out crisp and delicious! When I printed the recipe long ago the recipe had a "review" from Sharon that stated she did not use a water bath, that the directions had been changed due to health regulations. So when I make them I stick with the "original" method. As per the original recipe, I invert the jars into boiling water (enough to cover rim) and boil for 10 minutes. I've never had a problem with jars sealing and the pickles are crisp. I do soak the cucumbers in VERY cold water with lots of ice for 2 hours. I then quarter the cucumbers before putting them into the jars. I also add a bit more vinegar and water to make up for my pouring abilities since I tend to spill some of the liquid. The first time I made these I was short on the liquid for the last jar. These pickles are the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is an awesome dill pickle recipe!! I have looked and looked for a CRISP dill pickle recipe and now I will not have to look any longer. Followed the recipe exactly as written and had no problems. Thanks for sharing Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Made this recipe 5 weeks ago and just sampled a pickle and wow are they good. Came out nice and crispy with a perfect amount of dill and sourness too. Even my wife (who is so so on pickles) loved them! I'm giving a jar away today to my daughter. I am planning another batch and will be up sizing to a bigger batch. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States