Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was a huge hit at our house. My 10 year old grandson loved it. I did make a couple of changes - I added about 1/4 cup oats; I used dill pickle relish (drained) instead of chopping pickles, and I omitted the water called for in the glaze. I also added some garlic seasoning. This will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I made this mainly for my kids who are huge pickle lovers - but was completely surprised at how bizarrely good this recipe was! I doubled the sauce as some reviewers suggested - and will definitely be using this as my go to meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
In my family, we're not big fans of meatloaf. I thought the dill pickles were great in this, though. My husband, who doesn't like pickles, scraped off the pickles and thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made this with ground turkey. I was also out of bread, so I used bread crumbs. We all loved this, it turned out great. My daughter was excited when I told her there were pickles in it (she loves pickles). I served it with new potatoes and fresh green beans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Loved this! The only thing I regret was not making enough. We love grilling as much as we can so I placed this in a cast iron pot and grilled it. I added the sauce at the end and opened up the pot. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I've made this meatloaf without ketchup, and replaced brown sugar with molasses. Overall a very good flavor, but it needs more bread to improve the texture. Also, it baked in only 45 minutes in 8x8 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I thought this was good but it was mooshy, didn't stand up to being sliced and my kids refused to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I liked this a lot, so I'm giving it 4 stars, but husband didn't. He asked what was in the topping, with a look and a tone in his voice that could have meant "what's in this topping? Snot?" But I thought the chopped pickles & pickle juice gave the loaf a very interesting flavor. My only change was to use panko instead of fresh bread, and I think that was a good thing; it would have been WAAAY too wet with just fresh bread to soak up the liquid. Guess who's having a meatloaf sandwich for dinner tonight? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this! I made a few changes: ground turkey, dry breadcrumbs (to taste), and omitted the salt (all of it). I also made my meatloaf on a roasting rack, the kind with a drain pan beneath so the fat could drain off. This mixture is very loose, and the finished product is too, but so tasty that I don't mind it being difficult to slice! I served this fantastic meatloaf with home fries and cucumbers in vinegar. I will absolutely make this regularly, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I don't really like meat loaf but this was great. Kids and hubby also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States