Dill Pickle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I thought this meatloaf was tasty and easy to cook. AND.. I definitely could taste the dill pickles. I recommend this recipe and plan on baking it tomorrow for my daughter, who LOVES dill pickles and son-in-law. I hope they enjoy it as much as my (ex) boyfriend and I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This meatload is very tasty but way too salty! Adding pickle juice AND chopped pickles seems overkill. I think I will cut the pickle juice in half, and also use only 1/4 tsp salt. Also, I made this meatloaf in my microwave. It had too much liquid so I kept taking it out with a baster. After 16 minutes in my microwave (with carousel, so no need to turn...), and after removing lots of liquid with baster, I put it into my oven for ten minutes to brown/firm up the top. It really was very good, and I will definitely make it again. (Note: to the person who couldn't taste any pickle flavor, I used Claussen dill spears which produced a fresh, bright flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imdogoflanders
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My mother found this recipe 40+ years ago in an old Farm Journal. I was, and still is, the only kind of meatloaf that I will eat. I have been making it for my husband for the past 24 years, and he has asked that I give it to many of his friends! Very flavorful and a change up from regular meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yum! I love pickles so I thought this meatloaf was fantastic. Easy to make and a fun twist on the usual meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I would definitely double up the sauce next time. It was great. The meatloaf however, was just a meatloaf. The pickle juice it didn't offer any benefits to the recipe and honestly couldn't even tell it was there. Next time, I will use my own meatloaf recipe but add the chopped pickle sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Have made this a few times now and this is my go to recipe for meatloaf as Grumpy likes the dill pickle part and always was requesting I put it in his meatloaf. Great recipe...love it with beef or venison. I really love it in a sandwich the day after with a little mayo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Pretty good meatloaf. It is a too liquidy if you just use the amount of bread called for; I used dried breadcrumbs, and just dumped and mixed until I got a less liquid consistency. Hubs commented this tasted like hamburger and we discussed how some of the reviews stated that this meatloaf is reminiscent of a Big Mac. He agreed--but you'd probably need to put this on bread and add your toppings to get it to really taste like that. I doubled the sauce topping and used dill pickle juice instead of water to thin it. Turned out well. Ate with green beans and bread for a hearty lunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
When I saw this recipe I was a bit sceptical but I have made this twice now and it is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPITTS04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Shady Spring, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
A very different and unique meatloaf. I like the crunchiness the pickles give and the slight tanginess that the pickles impart. Delicious! Definitely a dish worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Thought this was tasty. I added 1/3 cup chopped pickle to the glaze instead of the 1/4 cup, because I like pickle so much. Thought it was a bit on the wet side too. I drained any liquid off half way through. Thanks for sharing. Will put in my meatloaf recipes to make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States