Dill Pickle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This recipe is fabulous. The only thing was judging the amount of pickle to use. The first time I used two small pickles and today I used one large pickle and I think I will use more pickle. I also use minced garlic and chives. One of the reviews said she uses the pickle juice in place of the water. I think I will try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
My husband and I really loved this recipe. It was very soft and moist and not to overpowering. I used pickle juice for half the water and substituted garlic salt for the salt. It was great with cream cheese! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
My wife loved this bread. Great bread for sandwiches. I chose to set my crust to a darker setting for a richer crust. For the kids I chose to use onion powder instead of chopped onions. Both came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Good recipe, but needed adjustments-added sugar and some gluten flour (for the 1/8 c flour) for a really good bread. Also try adding 1/2 finely chopped onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This is a fantastic bread for pickle lovers. The second time I made it, I added a bit more diced pickle and upped the pickle juice-to-water ratio to 3:1, then reduced the salt by 1/4 tsp. This is the perfect bread for roast beef, tuna salad, chicken salad, and innumerable other sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
The pickle taste wasn't as distinctive as I had hoped - I even used pickle juice for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This is the BEST bread I have ever made in a machine and I've worn out 3 machines! Very light and tasty. I grated my pickle [Clausen's Kosher Dills] and used distilled water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This bread didn't rise for me, and the bread ended up being heavy. I had added sugar to help the yeast along, but this didn't seem to work. I thought maybe it would be better to add chopped pickles and dill pickle juice to my regular white bread recipe for bread machines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
This recipe seemed to be an excellent idea, but it didn't turn out for me. The bread didn't rise at all...not even a little bit and I followed the recipe exactly. My yeast was good, I have used it sucessfully recently on other recipes. I did wonder why there was no sugar in the recipe...I thought yeast needs sugar to act. Also, I am told salt keeps the yeast in check so the extra salt in the pickle juice may have done something also. This recipe smelled wonderful as it baked, I was sorry it didn't turn out. I threw the bread away. Anyone have any suggestions to save this recipe? Had it risen, it would have been wonderful. Thanks! Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERCHERYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I added an extra pickle since I love pickles. Great bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States