Dill Pickle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
What a surprise! This was really good. It slices and toasts very well and made great grilled cheese sandwiches. I used half water and half pickle juice for the liquid. I used all-purpose flour and one packet of rapid-rise yeast. I did not have the dried minced onion, so I sprinkled in some onion powder. Next time I will add another diced pickle (we really like pickles)! I am planning to make this for my corned beef sandwiches with spicy mustard. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This bread is really good. I made it just like the recipe said. I was really expecting it to be more pickle-like. I think next time, I'm going to sub pickle juice for the water like other had suggested. Unique recipe!! Update*** I used the pickle juice instead of the water and it made it much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I love this bread. It's great just toasted with butter on it. I changed it a little, substituted the water with warmed dill pickle juice and left out the dill pickle. I also used 1/2 of a fresh onion chopped finely and in the last mixing cycle, added a cup of asiago cheese. It was perfect without my changes but the cheese and onion just adds a little twang to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I liked this bread. Since a lot of people commented that the dill flavor wasn't very strong, I went with the suggestion from the submitter to use half pickle juice and half water. I also added a tbs of sugar because of comments of too dense bread. Turned out well, as it rose well and was nice and soft. Tastes like dill and pickles! Bf wasn't so sure about it but I think it's the perfect bread to put peanut butter on (LOVED peanut butter and pickle sandwiches as a kid). Update: I've made this several times since I first tried it, and I've learned a few things that work for me along the way: First, I cut the pickle, but into slices then half slices; I don't chop since the bread machine pulverizes small pieces. I use all pickle juice for the liquid for better flavor and leave out any salt. I usually use the dough setting and then bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes. Works wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe but did use a few helpful hints from a review...it was fabulous...so good for ham or turkey sandwiches...it toasted good too...even ate it with peanut butter...loved it thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I loved this bread. It made great toast and I also used it for sandwiches. It was soft and moist and wonderful. I substituted most of the water for pickle juice and I also added a bit of sugar to ensure that it would rise correctly. I don't have a bread machine so I made it the good old fashioned way. I do think next time I will either cut my pickles much smaller or perhaps run them through the food processor quickly because my chunks were a bit too large and kept falling out of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ravena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Very good bread. I did have to add a little bit more liquid. I also used pickle juice in place of some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I doubled quite a bit of the spices and put quite a bit of pickle in this bread. I wanted it to be flavorful as some other reviews said it was lacking in taste. I did not care for this bread and don't think I will be trying it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
The bread itself was very fluffy and good, however, it didn't taste like dill! I read the reviews, and so I added extra pickles, extra dill weed, and extra pickle juice, and still, there was only the faintest hint of dill. My boyfriend really liked it, and so it got a three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldielocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States