Dill Pickle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I have made this twice now and everyone just loves it. It comes out perfect, soft and light but with the great flavor of dill from the pickles. Thank you for this recipe, it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This rose fine for me with a few adjustments. First of all for the amount of flour called for 2 1/4 tsp of yeast is the right amount which is 1 full package. I always use rapid rise yeast and heated the liquids to the temp specified on my brand package. I did use about 1 tsp of sugar as the yeast needs it. I also used 1/2 pickle juice and 1/2 water and I doubled the amount of dill weed. Also, I think it is important after you chop your pickle to make sure you get of excess juice I dabbed mine with a paper towel. This did not quite have the pow I wanted with the dill flavor, I am going to try it again with all pickle juice. Don't get me wrong with a few adjustments this is an awesome flavored bread but I want more dill flavor as I am a pickle fanatic!!! Thx for the yummy bread =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This bread was a pain in my backside. Honestly. I fully accept my first two attempts as my fault. First time, I killed the yeast with too hot pickle juice. Second time, dough wouldn't rise at all. I found out salt kills yeast and using the full liquid amount as pickle juice wasn't the brightest idea. Third time, I did half pickle juice and half water. I made this from beginning to end in my Kitchen Aid. I proofed the yeast with the warm pickle juice/water with a tsp. of sugar in my mixer bowl for ten minutes. Then, I added the melted butter and after, all the dry ingredients. I kneaded the bread with my dough hook for five minutes or so, then shaped it into a ball and set it to rise in a large greased bowl, covered with Saran Wrap, on my warm oven for an hour. It rose a little, not much. I then formed it into a loaf and set it to rise covered with Saran Wrap again for another half hour or so. After seeing that the loaf hadn't risen much, I let it set for another 45 minutes until I just couldn't wait anymore. I baked it for about a half hour. Now, it is a petite loaf, but the flavor is very nice. I would be willing to make this again but I'd like to see if I could get more of a pickle flavor without sacrificing the growability of the dough. I take full blame for the mistakes with first two, but not all for the third. I know me, I'll keep messing with it until I get it. Long story short, good recipe....just don't do what I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was not really my favorite bread. I should say that I do not have a bread machine and followed another reviewers suggestions for making and baking the bread. This is why I am giving 4 stars. I do not want to downgrade a recipe when I intentionally changed it. So, The other reviewer that baked in the oven said to bake at 375 for 40 minutes and cover with foil after the first 15 minutes. I checked my bread after 15 minutes and it did not need to be covered, in fact I cooked it for 40 minutes without covering. I took the bread out of the oven and tested with an instant thermometer. I think that the accepted temperature for cooked bread is 200 degrees, which is what this bread was. When I cut into the bread it was still a little doughy with not much pickle flavor even though I replaced 1/2 cup of pickle juice for part of the liquid. Again, I want to state that I did not rate this recipe based upon my changes. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This turned out perfectly! I don’t have a bread maker. Here are some tips. - Proof yeast w/ 1 tsp sugar in 1/2 cup warm water 10 min. Add pickles, butter, onion, parsley, dill. Omit salt. Add 1/2 cup pickle juice. Stir in 2 cups flour to form a soft dough. Knead in enough flour to make a smooth, elastic dough (2 3/4 cup, 12 minutes for me). Let rise in greased bowl 1 hr or until double. Punch down dough, form loaf in greased pan, let rise 30 min. Bake at 375F for 40 min, covering with foil after 1st 15min. Wonderful, dill-y bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This bread was very disappointing. The texture was fine and the loaf looked nice, but the flavor was very bitter. *If* I try it again, it will be with "bread & butter" pickles or with the dill, but with sugar added and the dill weed & parsely left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
this is good, but I was a little disappointed in the lack of pickle flavoring, I will make again but substituite some pickle juice for the water. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was good but the first loaf I made wasn't "pickly" enough. Increase the juice to water ratio and add more chopped dills. Oh, and put the crust on light - the crust got a "burnt pickle" smell when I used medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimball, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waverly, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Interesting and unique. I like it because it is diffrent and compliments meat sandwiches well. I substituted half the water with pickle juice and ran a large dill pickle (I got about 1 cup of chopped pickle) through the food processor. Use a dill pickle you really like because that and the juice flavor the bread and there are diffrences in dill pickles. I used a teaspoon of dried dill. The addition of pickle juice gives the bread a sour dough like flavor. Use fresh flour and yeast to ensure success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I have made this bread several times and I have also used the dough to make hot pocket type sandwiches with sloppy joe filling and bbq pork w/onions. Yummy bread. I did use pickle juice in place of part of the water and fresh dill weed tastes better than the dried but it is not always available. Oh, and I don't use a bread machine and still find it's well worth the time to make often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States