Dill Pickle Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was not really my favorite bread. I should say that I do not have a bread machine and followed another reviewers suggestions for making and baking the bread. This is why I am giving 4 stars. I do not want to downgrade a recipe when I intentionally changed it. So, The other reviewer that baked in the oven said to bake at 375 for 40 minutes and cover with foil after the first 15 minutes. I checked my bread after 15 minutes and it did not need to be covered, in fact I cooked it for 40 minutes without covering. I took the bread out of the oven and tested with an instant thermometer. I think that the accepted temperature for cooked bread is 200 degrees, which is what this bread was. When I cut into the bread it was still a little doughy with not much pickle flavor even though I replaced 1/2 cup of pickle juice for part of the liquid. Again, I want to state that I did not rate this recipe based upon my changes. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This turned out perfectly! I don’t have a bread maker. Here are some tips. - Proof yeast w/ 1 tsp sugar in 1/2 cup warm water 10 min. Add pickles, butter, onion, parsley, dill. Omit salt. Add 1/2 cup pickle juice. Stir in 2 cups flour to form a soft dough. Knead in enough flour to make a smooth, elastic dough (2 3/4 cup, 12 minutes for me). Let rise in greased bowl 1 hr or until double. Punch down dough, form loaf in greased pan, let rise 30 min. Bake at 375F for 40 min, covering with foil after 1st 15min. Wonderful, dill-y bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This bread was very disappointing. The texture was fine and the loaf looked nice, but the flavor was very bitter. *If* I try it again, it will be with "bread & butter" pickles or with the dill, but with sugar added and the dill weed & parsely left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
this is good, but I was a little disappointed in the lack of pickle flavoring, I will make again but substituite some pickle juice for the water. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was good but the first loaf I made wasn't "pickly" enough. Increase the juice to water ratio and add more chopped dills. Oh, and put the crust on light - the crust got a "burnt pickle" smell when I used medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimball, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waverly, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Interesting and unique. I like it because it is diffrent and compliments meat sandwiches well. I substituted half the water with pickle juice and ran a large dill pickle (I got about 1 cup of chopped pickle) through the food processor. Use a dill pickle you really like because that and the juice flavor the bread and there are diffrences in dill pickles. I used a teaspoon of dried dill. The addition of pickle juice gives the bread a sour dough like flavor. Use fresh flour and yeast to ensure success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I have made this bread several times and I have also used the dough to make hot pocket type sandwiches with sloppy joe filling and bbq pork w/onions. Yummy bread. I did use pickle juice in place of part of the water and fresh dill weed tastes better than the dried but it is not always available. Oh, and I don't use a bread machine and still find it's well worth the time to make often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
What a surprise! This was really good. It slices and toasts very well and made great grilled cheese sandwiches. I used half water and half pickle juice for the liquid. I used all-purpose flour and one packet of rapid-rise yeast. I did not have the dried minced onion, so I sprinkled in some onion powder. Next time I will add another diced pickle (we really like pickles)! I am planning to make this for my corned beef sandwiches with spicy mustard. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This bread is really good. I made it just like the recipe said. I was really expecting it to be more pickle-like. I think next time, I'm going to sub pickle juice for the water like other had suggested. Unique recipe!! Update*** I used the pickle juice instead of the water and it made it much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I love this bread. It's great just toasted with butter on it. I changed it a little, substituted the water with warmed dill pickle juice and left out the dill pickle. I also used 1/2 of a fresh onion chopped finely and in the last mixing cycle, added a cup of asiago cheese. It was perfect without my changes but the cheese and onion just adds a little twang to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States