Dill Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is a nice gazpacho, I used hot chili oil instead of the jalapeno. The flavor was good, I will make this again, its easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Out of this World! A lot of chopping but so very worth it! I did add a bit of chopped fresh basil too, out of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Absolutely the biggest hit at our Labor Day family get together! I increased the amounts by about 50% or so using 1/2 reg. and 1/2 plum tomatoes plus 1 red bell pepper in addition to the green one and 2 jalapenos (1 seeded, the other not). Since half was going to be blended anyway I fine chopped 1/2 and the other was course chopped for the blender,saving prep time. Speaking of which, the listed prep time was VERY conservative, more like double for me. Also seeded the cukes and put all seeds in the blender. I think it made for a less watery soup. Served with crusty Italian bread and a bottle of Tobasco sauce on the side and it's a meal itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOFORCE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I used a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes instead of fresh. I also used about a teaspoon of garlic powder, a teaspoon of dried basil and I pureed the entire thing. It's very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This looked and smelled fantastic while I was preparing it! My husband doesn't like vegetable chunks, so I pureed the entire thing. I don't recommend that. I didn't like the texture without the vegetable chunks. Also, it was an unappealing brown color because of the red of the tomatoes combined with the green of the bell pepper. It seems like a red or yellow bell pepper would give this a more attractive color. Anyway, my husband decided that the gazpacho smelled hideous and he wouldn't eat it, so it's all mine. It tasted great as a puree, but I added some chunks back in to improve the texture, and it's terrific! If I make it again, though, I'll try it as a salad without pureeing at all. UPDATE: I did make this again as a salad. It was delicious, but there was a lot of liquid in the bottom of the bowl, so I guess it does need to be partially pureed to incorporate that liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is an excellent gazpacho recipe. My husband is a soup fanatic and he loves this. Chill the bowls first and it makes an elegant first course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was delicious! I used an orange pepper instead of a green one to save the colour, and used a few drops of Tabasco as I had no jalapenos. I didn't do any chopping either - I kept 4 tomatoes aside and blended them roughly into everything else at the very end, to make sure there were some lumpy bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. My supermarket was out of fresh dill, so I just used dried dill weed, and it still had a great flavor. My only problem was that it was a little watery, probably because I'm not an adept blender-user. Great for a summer lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Perfect except too spicy and I'm a 4-star Thai food gal. Use a small jalepeno or eliminate and add pepper flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was amazing. I made it without the jalepeno as I don't really like spicy food. So easy and great flavor! Can't wait to make it for summer get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States