Dijon-Tarragon Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great recipe, even got my little sister to like tarragon! I would say, as others have, to add more sauce. For mine I did 2/3 cup heavy cream and then 1/3 cup milk, just because I was really looking for something too too thick. Obviously doubled the mustard and tarragon portions too. I found that halving the chicken was also useful in absorbing the sauce. Overall great dish, definitely trying it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
If you cut the chicken into 1 inch cubes it speeds up the cooking time. Also after I took the chicken out of the pan I sauted mushrooms and garlic in the same pan until tender before adding half & half and mustard. I used dried tarragon and it came out awesome. A perfect dijion sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My husband, who usually doesn't like mustard sauces, absolutely loved this! I had to substitute dried tarragon for the fresh, and I really don't think it made that much of a difference. It's a little heavy in the fats values, but is a wonderful treat every once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was great. I followed the recipe but used a bit more cream for more sauce. Served it over rice with some green beans. I had dinner on the table fast and it was a hit with my husband and my 3 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was delicious!! I took some suggestions and sauted mushrooms, onion, and garlic before mixing the sauce; we also doubled the sauce and used 1 tsp dried tarragon (crushed) in place of the fresh. Served over mashed potatoes and with a side of fresh steamed broccoli - yum!! I think next time I will use fat free half-and-half in place of the cream to cut out some fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I coated the chicken in seasoned flour and used oregano instead of tarragon because I couldn't find it. I know it totally changes the flavor of the dish and I will make again with tarragon eventually. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great recipe! I followed others' suggestions and coated the chicken in dijon mustard a few hours before cooking, and then dipped in flour immediately before putting in the pan. I also used half & half instead of cream as I didn't have cream on hand. It was still delicious! I served it with red potatoes (chopped into cubes, coated in salt, pepper, dijon mustard, and a little mayo and baked until done), and the sauce was great on the potatoes too! I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I have made this several times and it always turns out awesome. I use six skinless chicken thighs and use goat's milk and double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Bland, I had to add a lot of extras to make it okay. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I'm always looking for new ways to use tarragon because it takes over my herb garden. I love this recipe, but be careful with this herb. It is very sweet and can overpower a recipe, so resist the impulse to throw a bit more in just because you have it. (I hope I don't have to say to use only fresh, and only French tarragon). The mustard balances the tarragon beautifully. Next time I'll change the proportions and use just a bit more of it. There is almost never a reason to use heavy cream in any recipe. Light cream will do. And sour cream would be equally as good. Definitely double the sauce. I try to watch my weight, but it's hard with this one, especially when served over my favorite wide egg noodles. I want seconds and thirds and keep sneaking just another spoonful of the sauce before refrigerating leftovers. Leftovers??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States