Dijon-Tarragon Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I made this with several changes suggested from other reviewers. Never had tarragon before and it smelled like licorice so just to be sure everyone liked it I used half the amount( I will add more next time). I dredged the chicken in seasoned flour and then browned. Then sauted chopped onions and sliced mushrooms, then made the sauce. I did make extra sauce as suggested and I'm glad I did. My husband and 10 year old son loved it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great recipe, even got my little sister to like tarragon! I would say, as others have, to add more sauce. For mine I did 2/3 cup heavy cream and then 1/3 cup milk, just because I was really looking for something too too thick. Obviously doubled the mustard and tarragon portions too. I found that halving the chicken was also useful in absorbing the sauce. Overall great dish, definitely trying it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
If you cut the chicken into 1 inch cubes it speeds up the cooking time. Also after I took the chicken out of the pan I sauted mushrooms and garlic in the same pan until tender before adding half & half and mustard. I used dried tarragon and it came out awesome. A perfect dijion sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My husband, who usually doesn't like mustard sauces, absolutely loved this! I had to substitute dried tarragon for the fresh, and I really don't think it made that much of a difference. It's a little heavy in the fats values, but is a wonderful treat every once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was great. I followed the recipe but used a bit more cream for more sauce. Served it over rice with some green beans. I had dinner on the table fast and it was a hit with my husband and my 3 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget Parrish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was delicious!! I took some suggestions and sauted mushrooms, onion, and garlic before mixing the sauce; we also doubled the sauce and used 1 tsp dried tarragon (crushed) in place of the fresh. Served over mashed potatoes and with a side of fresh steamed broccoli - yum!! I think next time I will use fat free half-and-half in place of the cream to cut out some fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I coated the chicken in seasoned flour and used oregano instead of tarragon because I couldn't find it. I know it totally changes the flavor of the dish and I will make again with tarragon eventually. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great recipe! I followed others' suggestions and coated the chicken in dijon mustard a few hours before cooking, and then dipped in flour immediately before putting in the pan. I also used half & half instead of cream as I didn't have cream on hand. It was still delicious! I served it with red potatoes (chopped into cubes, coated in salt, pepper, dijon mustard, and a little mayo and baked until done), and the sauce was great on the potatoes too! I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I have made this several times and it always turns out awesome. I use six skinless chicken thighs and use goat's milk and double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Bland, I had to add a lot of extras to make it okay. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States