Dijon-Tarragon Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was delicious!! I took some suggestions and sauted mushrooms, onion, and garlic before mixing the sauce; we also doubled the sauce and used 1 tsp dried tarragon (crushed) in place of the fresh. Served over mashed potatoes and with a side of fresh steamed broccoli - yum!! I think next time I will use fat free half-and-half in place of the cream to cut out some fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I coated the chicken in seasoned flour and used oregano instead of tarragon because I couldn't find it. I know it totally changes the flavor of the dish and I will make again with tarragon eventually. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great recipe! I followed others' suggestions and coated the chicken in dijon mustard a few hours before cooking, and then dipped in flour immediately before putting in the pan. I also used half & half instead of cream as I didn't have cream on hand. It was still delicious! I served it with red potatoes (chopped into cubes, coated in salt, pepper, dijon mustard, and a little mayo and baked until done), and the sauce was great on the potatoes too! I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I have made this several times and it always turns out awesome. I use six skinless chicken thighs and use goat's milk and double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Bland, I had to add a lot of extras to make it okay. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I'm always looking for new ways to use tarragon because it takes over my herb garden. I love this recipe, but be careful with this herb. It is very sweet and can overpower a recipe, so resist the impulse to throw a bit more in just because you have it. (I hope I don't have to say to use only fresh, and only French tarragon). The mustard balances the tarragon beautifully. Next time I'll change the proportions and use just a bit more of it. There is almost never a reason to use heavy cream in any recipe. Light cream will do. And sour cream would be equally as good. Definitely double the sauce. I try to watch my weight, but it's hard with this one, especially when served over my favorite wide egg noodles. I want seconds and thirds and keep sneaking just another spoonful of the sauce before refrigerating leftovers. Leftovers??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This recipe is divine! I did make several adjustments though, but regardless the recipe is great. I actually did this with 2 halibut fillets instead of 4 chicken breasts. I used only 1 T of smart balance olive oil spread. I kept the proportions for the sauce the same. I deglazed with about 1/4 C of white wine and added 2 gloves of garlic, minced. Once the wine had reduced I added the cream (I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2) and tarragon. Then followed the rest of the recipe as described. I served with "Fast and Easy Spinach with Shallots" from A/R and a butternut squash puree. I was in heaven, soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I gave this one to my daughter. Her husband has a wheat allergy, so this works perfect. I grow French Tarragon in my garden. Use fresh Tarragon only, dried- in jar is not the same. This recipe is GREAT,... just double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia C,

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This recipe is absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arlyneybakes!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Stunning dish, prepared exactly as described. Lived in Europe for several years and this reminds me of my time there. To alter this AND serve with Stove Top stuffing....I can't find the words. Lovely dish, Delta, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States