Dietetic Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Finally a lowfat, sugarfree muffin that tastes like a muffin should! I made these twice this week. Using the 1/2cup wholewheat flour makes them nicer. Also I cut the sugar sub to 1/2cup using part slenda and part brown sugar twin. The last batch I added 2teaspoons of real sugar too. I find this makes the texture and taste better without affecting a diabetic at all. Instead of 2 egg whites, I used 1 whole egg. This still makes each muffin less than 1 gram of fat. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Hello? This recipe has the word "NUT" in the title, but there are no nuts whatsoever mentioned in the recipe. That's easily remedied, though - I threw in 1/3 cup chopped, toasted pecans and stuck one on the top of each muffin. They rose up beautifully, and tasted very good, but stuck to the paper liners terribly. I think the Splenda is the cause of this - when using another muffin recipe from the Splenda web site, the directions included spraying the paper liners with cooking oil spray. The papers come off the muffins perfectly. I will try this trick the next time I use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I added 1/8 cup ground flax seed for fiber and moisture. I could taste the Splenda, but it was not as strong the second day. I would fix them again, but maybe try adding pumpkin instead of applesauce (0 points), some vanilla flavoring, even some fat free sugar free banana instant pudding. Glad I tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I didn't have Splenda so I used regular brown sugar and I also used the whole egg. I made these as mini-muffins for my son and he loved them. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These were EXCELLENT!! I've never been so pleased with a NO FAT, NO SUGAR recipe!!! I didn't tell the family they were "healthy", and they loved them!!! I added more banana then the recipe called for, only because I had 3 over-ripe bananas... oooohhh... so good!!! It would have probably been better with some wheat flour like the recipe suggests, but we didn't have any... but they were STILL REALLY great!!! Also, used egg beaters (1/2 cup) instead of two egg whites, just for convienance... egg beaters is pretty much just that - egg whites... plus some other stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY @ A Better Way Farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
When I run this recipe through the WW website's recipe-builder program it comes out 2 points per muffin. I tried calculating it for egg whites and Egg Beaters with added bran or no bran it always came up 2 points. And that's with no nuts. Far better than a sugar/butter/egg recipe but I don't know how others came out with 1 point per muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
These are great for those of us who count "points". I did have a slight problem with the muffin liners in that they stuck to the muffins. However, I found that after they had set a day, they peeled off fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Delicious. I made a few changes-- I used about 2 cups of mashed banana. I also added about 4 tablespoons sugar free vanilla pudding. I added it because the batter seemed dry before pouring it into the tin- the vanilla taste came through in the muffins. The muffins had lots of flavor- so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Made these today for my dad who is a diabetic. They were great. He loved them. My husband who is not a fan of artificial sweeteners actually said they were delicious, and asked me to make them for his crew at the firehouse. Moist and full of flavor. I did add about 1/2 c more bananas. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was quick and simple. I think these would be a great project for kids. I just suggest you make sure to spray the muffin tins well or use paper liners and spray them. No butter, no oil = stick like crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Great recipe, I gave them 5 stars because they are remorse free and they taste great compared to the almost no calories they have I made my own apple sauce (Sarah's Applesauce) and used splenda instead of regular sugar, I guess that makes the muffins even more dietetic I also sifted the dry ingredients because it gives more volume to the muffins If you care a lot about your figure like I do, try them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States