Dietetic Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Wow! I never thought I'd find a low fat, low sugar, low calorie muffin recipe that tastes this great! It is just awesome! I added a few tablespoons of walnuts for some crunch and will try a few tablespoons of chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I love this recipe. I use it over and over. It reminds me of cupcakes my grandmother used to make. I have made some changes. Instead of 1 tsp. cinnamon I use 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice, and 1/4 tsp cloves to bring it closer to the flavor of my grandmother's cupcakes, and I increase to 1/2 cup applesauce for more moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I just made these lastnight. Huge hit! Loved them. Noticed that the nuts were omitted from the recipe. I doubled the recipe as listed and added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I filled greased muffin tins and filled them almost full - they rose perfectly for nice, big muffins. This is my first attempt at baking with Splenda - pleasantly surprised. This will definitely stay in my baking repetoire! Mmmmmm mmmmmmm good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These were okay. I am normally all for low-sugar, fat-free things, but I was a little bit disappointed with these. I used fat-free yogurt instead of applesauce per another reviewer's suggestions and also added 1 tsp. of vanilla. The first muffin I had was still warm and was pretty good, but after they cooled they took on a somewhat strange consistency. Still somewhat tasty and definitely edible, but just an overall disappointment for huge banana bread lovers like myself! Sometimes the end result is worth the small amount of fat/calories. Thanks for a great alternative, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GlassWalls
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
These weree good. :) Very moist on the inside, but I didn't like the outside as much. Either way, yay guilt free muffins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
These were much better than I was expecting! Very moist and have great banana flavor - I made as is except I added a teaspoon of vanilla for flavor and I'm glad I did. I also used Splenda sugar blend instead of 100% Splenda and sprikled some chopped walnuts on top before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I'm on weight watchers and they were great. Two of these equal one regular muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wittenberg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! I am diabetic so I am always looking for easier ways to stay away from a lot of sweets. The recipe was easy and I took some to work and they were an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I added 1/8 cup ground flax seed for fiber and moisture. I could taste the Splenda, but it was not as strong the second day. I would fix them again, but maybe try adding pumpkin instead of applesauce (0 points), some vanilla flavoring, even some fat free sugar free banana instant pudding. Glad I tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These were EXCELLENT!! I've never been so pleased with a NO FAT, NO SUGAR recipe!!! I didn't tell the family they were "healthy", and they loved them!!! I added more banana then the recipe called for, only because I had 3 over-ripe bananas... oooohhh... so good!!! It would have probably been better with some wheat flour like the recipe suggests, but we didn't have any... but they were STILL REALLY great!!! Also, used egg beaters (1/2 cup) instead of two egg whites, just for convienance... egg beaters is pretty much just that - egg whites... plus some other stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY @ A Better Way Farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States