Dietetic Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Instead of Splenda (it gives me a headache) I used brown sugar as someone suggested before. I also used more bananas (4 small very ripe ones) and added 1/2 cup of ground flax seed for fiber. And last but not least I added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips for my daughter's benefit. If there are chocolate chips in it she will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These were fantastic! Super low cal, easy to make, and totally hit the spot on my banana bread craving. Thanks for the recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I didn't have Splenda so I used regular brown sugar and I also used the whole egg. I made these as mini-muffins for my son and he loved them. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I used pumpkin in place of the bananas because it's in season right now, and these turned out great! Very moist, not too sweet-- this is a great recipe for healthy muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These were great!! I did make a couple of changes..used 1 1/2 cups of wheat flour and used only 1/2 cup of Splenda (bananas were ripe). They turned out wonderful and I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cayce, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out great! For a moment I thought I could detect a slight Splenda aftertaste, but then I decided if it was there, it was so minute that it didn't matter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I absolutely loved this recipe, my son did too. I have made it several times and I even changed it to an apple version and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Hmm, it's lacking in nuts, but it's easy enough to add ½ cup walnuts or pecans or whatever. :) I didn't have any whole wheat flour, so I used all AP. I also used 1/3 cup granulated sugar instead of Splenda, a whole egg instead of two whites, and I omitted the cinnamon (allergies in the house) and replaced it with two good shakes of nutmeg. I needed more like 1/3 cup of applesauce as the batter was too dry, but they were fabulous when done! I got 12 medium-sized muffins and 12 mini-muffins, which our three-year old loves. Very good, moist, and I was able to use up three very-overripe bananas (which is why I used so much less sugar). Thanks for sharing, Bridget! I'm on a low-fat diet right now and these muffins hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I am diabetic and always watch what I eat and these were SO delicious! I added more bannannas and a 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of 1/4 cup because I LOVE moist bananna bread. I also made it in a small cake pan instead of as muffins, it still turned out wonderful! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
These are great if you're dieting, but if you want the real thing this isn't the recipe. I'm trying to lose a couple pounds and these diet friendly muffins hit the spot. They tasted good and satisfied my need for something sweet without the guilt. I did add 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and a 1/2 a cup of chopped walnuts. They're very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States