Dietetic Banana Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
They were dry and tasteless. There are better recipes out there that can be adapted to sugar-free, low fat versions. First of all, the applesauce, banana and egg are not enough moisture. Maybe a splash of milk would help. And as other reviewers have pointed out, where are the nuts! I'm sorry, but I don't believe diabetics have to give up flavor to have sugar-free baked goods. Try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Could use more banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Good for being healthy, a little chewy, and has a slight aftertaste of Splenda..which I don't really care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These were great! I also used more banana to make them more moist - 3 full bananas. I followed someone else's suggestion and added vanilla (great choice!)....finally, I added walnuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These are a good low-cal option to get through those muffin cravings. However, while good, they are not "oh my gosh, amazing". I will make these again b/c of the good taste w/ lowcalories. My husband (picky eater) ate them and could not tell they were made with splenda :). I added extra applesauce to mine. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Yum! These are great! I did add 2 tablespoons of miniature chocolate chips to the tops of the muffins which would add about 10 calories per muffin. I love chocolate chip muffins but they are always so high in calorie, so it was great to find a muffin with such a low amount of calories that I can indulge my chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Made these today for my dad who is a diabetic. They were great. He loved them. My husband who is not a fan of artificial sweeteners actually said they were delicious, and asked me to make them for his crew at the firehouse. Moist and full of flavor. I did add about 1/2 c more bananas. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was quick and simple. I think these would be a great project for kids. I just suggest you make sure to spray the muffin tins well or use paper liners and spray them. No butter, no oil = stick like crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
These were awesome, especially for being healthy! Will be making again! I also used extra banana and added some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Hello? This recipe has the word "NUT" in the title, but there are no nuts whatsoever mentioned in the recipe. That's easily remedied, though - I threw in 1/3 cup chopped, toasted pecans and stuck one on the top of each muffin. They rose up beautifully, and tasted very good, but stuck to the paper liners terribly. I think the Splenda is the cause of this - when using another muffin recipe from the Splenda web site, the directions included spraying the paper liners with cooking oil spray. The papers come off the muffins perfectly. I will try this trick the next time I use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
What a great muffin! I used 1/3 cup white sugar because I had no splenda. I copied the ingredients down wrong and used only 1 cup flour (half reg. half wheat) and they turned out great! I used 3 bananas and added vanilla. Wonderfully moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States