Diet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a very forgiving and easy to customize soup! I added celery, corn and some very small pasta to this soup to make it a bit more hearty. I used a can of diced tomatoes and a small can of tomato sauce to make the broth a bit more flavorful. It turned out wonderful! An inexpensive, healthy, and great soup for a cold day. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used vegetable stock and a beef boullion cube. Also, I omitted the green beans. I added salt, pepper, oregano, tumeric and ginger and a dash of olive oil. Delicious and hardly any calories for a huge bowl. I had it for lunch and I was full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is one potent soup. I did not care for the flavor at all. I love cabage, but not like this. I think the onion soup mix is what ruined it, because it made the broth an icky brown and was rancid tasting. I have had a diet soup from women's world magazine that tasted great, but I lost the recipe, blah......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forbach, Lorraine, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I omitted grean beans and celery, and instead of fresh tomatoes used 2-14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes. If you like cabbage, this is a very good filling, low calorie, no fat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
The base of this soup is the onion soup mix and the cabbage. Whatever else you put in it, is to your liking. I love using crushed or diced tomatoes (with juice), celery, green onion, carrots, red bell pepper, 1 tsp red pepper flakes and a dash of hot sauce. I add fresh baby mushroom 15 minutes before it's cooked. It takes about 45 minutes to prepare and lasts a week in fridge. Does not freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I couldn't find the dry soup so I used Swanson broth instead of water and dry mix. It turned out great. I like spicy food so I added fresh seeded jalapenos and topped the final product with lime and tapatio (chile sauce.)Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Great recipe, I omit celery & green beans as a taste preference. Not sure why this got bad reviews, everything else I made as directed and porportions were great-- not dieting, just needed a new soup to make. A medium head of cabbage wilts up well in this soup, perhaps someone else used a larger cabbage, only thing I can think of. I love it,my husband loves it and it reheats well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I love this recipe! It's very versatile. The first time i made it i followed the recipe as written and it was good but a little bland for me. I remember my Mom-Mom Jewell making it with V-8 juice so last night i used the same recipe but i used a combination of chicken broth, water and V-8 juice and omited the french onion soup mix altogether. I used fresh green beans instead of frozen which i thought made it better. I didn't have tomatoes so i used a can of diced tomatoes instead. I think corn would be good too some fresh corn off the cob mmm... I love the cabbage in this soup. The amount of veggies you use can be altered to suit your taste. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper and s&p.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This recipe is VERY TASTY and FULL of flavor!! If losing weight is this easy, I'll be skinny in no time! I followed the recipe with these changes. I used canned tomatoes w/basil, 2 large cubes chicken boullion, had to add 4 cups more water with all the vegetables I added, about 10 small sliced fresh mushrooms, one zucchini, 4 cloves crushed garlic, half of a large red pepper and one jalepeno w/ out seeds, 2 bay leaves, t. cayenne pepper, 2 T. parsley, t. Oregano, fresh basil, 2 T Olive oil, 2 cans canneloni beans (rinsed), salt to flavor. It made a lot but I am freezing part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Great recipe to start a "get in shape" regiment before summer. As mentioned in other reviews, it is extremely low in calories, and has no fat, it fills you up fast too! I added 3 diced jalepeno peppers (seeds removed), and some kidney beans for protein. You can use any leftover veggies you have on hand and create a great low-fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States