Diane's German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is my go-to cake recipe. I use this for any flavor of cupcakes and get RAVE reviews. The only bad thing is that the cupcakes need to be made the day that you eat them. They get very dense if you have them the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
cake was disappointment icing was ok I will use icing recipe again best one I've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I thought I was making this wrong because the batter was so thick I couldn't even pour it in the pan... More like scoop and smear into it. but, the cake turned out super yummy. My husband agreed and he is not easy to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Cake and Icing turned out fine. The only thing I changed was I used a chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding and no cocoa. Icing takes at least 30 minutes of constant stirring on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenHendrks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This recipe was a hit! The only thing I would like to add is, when you are cooking the evaporated milk, sugar, egg yolks, the recipe says cook til thick. The issue was I didn't know how thick it had to be. I would suggest to cook until probably tomato paste thick. I didn't cook it long enough. If you encounter this issue, all I did was add more coconut and pecans. Then I placed into the freezer for the cake to set. When I removed from the freezer, I was able to reapply the frosting in an upward fashion and it stuck to the sides of the cake like it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious cake! My guests loved it when I served it at my hubby's b'day party. It was moist and very tasty. The icing was a little difficult (which is why I'm only rating it 4 stars). It took a long time to set and the egg whites cooked into chunks. It was like having scrambled eggs inside the icing. Gross. I ended up straining the chunks of eggs out. It worked out but it was pretty nasty. I really just didn't like the thought of scrambled eggs in my icing. I'm not sure why it happened that way. Other than that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Double the frosting recipe and use brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
this recipe was great! i have made it twice and added my own spin to it....geman chocol shavings in the batter....i got rave reviews...i will keep this in my dessert files
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This cake is a little more time consuming to make, but it has always turned out great for me. I like to use chocolate instant pudding instead of vanilla, and I used 1/2 cup oil instead of 1/3 cup to make it a bit moister. The batter will turn out incredibly thick and compact. You'll have to spoon the batter into the cake pans instead of pouring. For the topping, even though it seems to be runny while you are cooking it, don't worry, when it cools down and you add the nuts and coconut, the topping will thicken up enough. Also after refrigerating the cake to make the topping set, I like to cover the sides with chocolate frosting using the Creamy Chocolate Frosting recipe from this site. That covers the sides nicely and makes for a beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Big hit for my boyfriend's birthday! The frosting is perfect, and the cake has great flavor. The cake is a bit dry though, so I'd suggest adding some apple sauce or sour cream before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States