Diane's German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
cake was disappointment icing was ok I will use icing recipe again best one I've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I thought I was making this wrong because the batter was so thick I couldn't even pour it in the pan... More like scoop and smear into it. but, the cake turned out super yummy. My husband agreed and he is not easy to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Cake and Icing turned out fine. The only thing I changed was I used a chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding and no cocoa. Icing takes at least 30 minutes of constant stirring on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenHendrks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This recipe was a hit! The only thing I would like to add is, when you are cooking the evaporated milk, sugar, egg yolks, the recipe says cook til thick. The issue was I didn't know how thick it had to be. I would suggest to cook until probably tomato paste thick. I didn't cook it long enough. If you encounter this issue, all I did was add more coconut and pecans. Then I placed into the freezer for the cake to set. When I removed from the freezer, I was able to reapply the frosting in an upward fashion and it stuck to the sides of the cake like it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious cake! My guests loved it when I served it at my hubby's b'day party. It was moist and very tasty. The icing was a little difficult (which is why I'm only rating it 4 stars). It took a long time to set and the egg whites cooked into chunks. It was like having scrambled eggs inside the icing. Gross. I ended up straining the chunks of eggs out. It worked out but it was pretty nasty. I really just didn't like the thought of scrambled eggs in my icing. I'm not sure why it happened that way. Other than that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Double the frosting recipe and use brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
this recipe was great! i have made it twice and added my own spin to it....geman chocol shavings in the batter....i got rave reviews...i will keep this in my dessert files
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This cake is a little more time consuming to make, but it has always turned out great for me. I like to use chocolate instant pudding instead of vanilla, and I used 1/2 cup oil instead of 1/3 cup to make it a bit moister. The batter will turn out incredibly thick and compact. You'll have to spoon the batter into the cake pans instead of pouring. For the topping, even though it seems to be runny while you are cooking it, don't worry, when it cools down and you add the nuts and coconut, the topping will thicken up enough. Also after refrigerating the cake to make the topping set, I like to cover the sides with chocolate frosting using the Creamy Chocolate Frosting recipe from this site. That covers the sides nicely and makes for a beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Big hit for my boyfriend's birthday! The frosting is perfect, and the cake has great flavor. The cake is a bit dry though, so I'd suggest adding some apple sauce or sour cream before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This cake it totally decent. Not extremely gourmet tasting, but if your on a budget it is really satisfying. I did not like that there was not enough icing to frost the sides of the cake, there was only enough for the layers. So I found a chocolate glaze recipe and drizzled that over the whole cake in a cross-hatch pattern. It still looked pretty, so I'm not too disappointed. The icing also took really long to thicken; I'm not even sure if it was the right consistency when I took it off the stove. Served it next to a big scoop of chocolate ganache gelato, fantastico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States