Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Oh my lord!!! It is as simple as the recipe looks and the animals loved it!!! Both the dog and cats loved it! they were licking the plate I brought it in to them on!! A must make for Christmas gift for our dog friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Both my dogs are not diabetic but they absolutely love this treat recipe! My shih-tzu has a very sensitive stomach and he has not had a problem with these treats at all! I have been able to teach them new tricks using these treats and they sit by the oven just waiting for them to come out! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynna.z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very easy to make and the dogs loved them. I don't have a food processor and so i went and found babyfood that was just beef with beef broth that was already processed and mixed it all together with a spoon. Great and Quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My dog, George M, formally owned by my mother-in-law, had many ailments, the worst being diabetis. I gave him 2 shots a day. He was a good, no great, dog and deserved his treats like any other but there are not many on the market for diabetic dogs. We found this recipe years ago and probably made a good 200 lbs. of liver for them until he passed a couple of years ago. He loved them so much and since they were good for him, we didn't mind giving him quite a few at a time. Why not? Anyway, kudos to whomever figured this recipe out. My dog had many good years partly because of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I was expecting something crunchy and instead they were very soft and spongy. They may be good for older dogs or young puppies but my Dobie is almost two and he likes crunchy treats. I ended up throwing my batch away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
My diabetic dog loved these treats! I used the babyfood instead of liver (processed the liver once and that was enough for me!). I also used muffin tins instead and made pupcakes. We are having a hard time getting her to eat her diabetic food, but with a pupcake added, she does much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
All dogs love this treat. I make it about every other month. Dealing with the liver is a little icky but a nice food processor helps. I've made these for my dogs and for friend's and family's dogs. Cats would probably love this too. I know my cat (RIP) would have went bonkers for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
WOW, my dogs went crazy over these! My dogs do not have a diabetes, but I thought this sounded like a tasty and healthy treat. I used one LARGE container of baby food--one batch with chicken noodle and one with turkey vegetable--1/ cup flour, and 2 eggs. I spread it onto a baking sheet and baked for 12 minutes at 350 degrees. After cooling a few minutes, I used a heart cookie cutter to punch out shapes, then cut the scraps up. I stored everything in a few ziplock baggies in the fridge. The dogs went wild for these treats, they really loved them. I served them to my two dogs and also have them at a doggie DNA party for my dogs and their doggie guests. Six different dogs all tried these, ranging from Chihuahua, Collie, mixed breeds, Lab, and Akita and they ALL loved them. Not one dog turned them down, even the picky Chihuahua. They were VERY popular and I had a few requests for the recipe. I am positive I will be making these again and I highly recommend them. My dogs and I thank you for sharing the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i made these for our choc. lab who is diabetic and has pancretious(sp?) (he can't have fat either or he gets sick). he really missed his treats, HE LOVES THESE! as well as our golden-doodle puppy! i have asked the vet about buying store made diabetic treats, which are hard to find anyway but he said that there are no laws that regulate what actually goes in them ;despite what they say on the package; they often are not what they say!?anyway i made these just as recipe states except sprinkling some fresh chopped parsley on top of alittle eggwhite wash. WARNING- DO NOT MAKE THESE RIGHT BEFORE COMPANY IS COMING OVER! IT STINKS BAD!! but the look on your dogs face is worth it!thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
BLANCH -Blanch the Liver!! Much easier on the eyes and nose when preparing. I used beef liver and chicken liver. I blanched both in hot water for a minute prior to food processor. Much nicer, MUCH!! The beef liver recipe was a bit thicker as the beef cooked more in the blanching process. The Chicken liver batch was more similar to the original both in texture and finished product. I have three Jack Russels and the diabetic one actually takes her shot without shaking when I put these in front of her. All three dogs prefered the beef liver but the chicken liver was a close second. Also made with ground turkey and that is a secondary treat. Just wanted everyone to know BLANCH yukky blood GONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States