Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Outstanding and easy! I have made dog treats before, but none have received the reaction that these do. Our dog literally begs for them. I threw everything into my food processor, including the eggshells. They stink, so keep in a tightly sealed container in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My dog thinks this treat is fantastic, I like it because it is easy to make and fast to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Soda Springs, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Oh my lord!!! It is as simple as the recipe looks and the animals loved it!!! Both the dog and cats loved it! they were licking the plate I brought it in to them on!! A must make for Christmas gift for our dog friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Both my dogs are not diabetic but they absolutely love this treat recipe! My shih-tzu has a very sensitive stomach and he has not had a problem with these treats at all! I have been able to teach them new tricks using these treats and they sit by the oven just waiting for them to come out! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynna.z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very easy to make and the dogs loved them. I don't have a food processor and so i went and found babyfood that was just beef with beef broth that was already processed and mixed it all together with a spoon. Great and Quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My dog, George M, formally owned by my mother-in-law, had many ailments, the worst being diabetis. I gave him 2 shots a day. He was a good, no great, dog and deserved his treats like any other but there are not many on the market for diabetic dogs. We found this recipe years ago and probably made a good 200 lbs. of liver for them until he passed a couple of years ago. He loved them so much and since they were good for him, we didn't mind giving him quite a few at a time. Why not? Anyway, kudos to whomever figured this recipe out. My dog had many good years partly because of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I was expecting something crunchy and instead they were very soft and spongy. They may be good for older dogs or young puppies but my Dobie is almost two and he likes crunchy treats. I ended up throwing my batch away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
My diabetic dog loved these treats! I used the babyfood instead of liver (processed the liver once and that was enough for me!). I also used muffin tins instead and made pupcakes. We are having a hard time getting her to eat her diabetic food, but with a pupcake added, she does much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
All dogs love this treat. I make it about every other month. Dealing with the liver is a little icky but a nice food processor helps. I've made these for my dogs and for friend's and family's dogs. Cats would probably love this too. I know my cat (RIP) would have went bonkers for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
WOW, my dogs went crazy over these! My dogs do not have a diabetes, but I thought this sounded like a tasty and healthy treat. I used one LARGE container of baby food--one batch with chicken noodle and one with turkey vegetable--1/ cup flour, and 2 eggs. I spread it onto a baking sheet and baked for 12 minutes at 350 degrees. After cooling a few minutes, I used a heart cookie cutter to punch out shapes, then cut the scraps up. I stored everything in a few ziplock baggies in the fridge. The dogs went wild for these treats, they really loved them. I served them to my two dogs and also have them at a doggie DNA party for my dogs and their doggie guests. Six different dogs all tried these, ranging from Chihuahua, Collie, mixed breeds, Lab, and Akita and they ALL loved them. Not one dog turned them down, even the picky Chihuahua. They were VERY popular and I had a few requests for the recipe. I am positive I will be making these again and I highly recommend them. My dogs and I thank you for sharing the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States