Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
If you'd leave out the flour, then you'd have a much better treat that's fit for diabetic dogs. Crunchy Liver-Hides are really raw and certified organic (and human-grade). These treats would be a much better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These treats are a LIFE SAVER!!! Our dog, Chancey, is VERY sensitive to most foods and we haven't had the extra money to spend on the treats she can have. BUT she doesn't get sick from these treats at all!! I used gluten free baking mix instead of flour and used three small jars of baby food. The baby food was different meat flavors. I prepared them separtly and put food coloring in them so we could tell them aprat. Chaney likes beef the best! She now follows me around when I'm in the kitchen, waiting for a treat! ^_^ Thanks SOOO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Easy to make and my dog loves them! I used chicken livers instead of beef liver and also threw the eggshells into the food processor (I was told they are safe and add calcium). I was a little worried because I didn't have parchment paper, but I just sprayed a little cooking spray on my pan and they didn't stick at all! Fantastic recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Buddy, our 14 year old, diabetic, Dachshund loves them. I used chicken livers instead of beef liver. He's gone blind now, but his nose still works, he was waiting for an earthquake to knock the pan off the the counter while they were cooling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I just made this for my Diabetic pooch, and she LOVED It! I did substitute the liver with 2 jars of chicken baby food, and I increased the amount of wheat flour to 1 cup. and added 2 tablespoons of chicken broth to help moisten. THANK YOU BARB for GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginaiboo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Our diabetic labrador absolutely loved these treats! I'm so glad that I was able to spoil him with a healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This recipe is GREAT. One of our dogs was just diagnosed with diabeties. We took her home for the weekend after the vet had her for a week and her blood sugar was about 230. We tend to give our dogs a LOT of treats and I was worried that giving her so many of these that her sugar would be sky high. We took her in Monday and her blood sugar was 113 so these truely caused no hard. Also, all three of our dogs LOVE them. I substitue the 2 2.5 oz jars of baby food for the liver also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
With 2 female border collies & an "I will eat anything" female lab you hit the mark. Our 11 year old border collie was bouncing around acting like she was a puppy again and the very picky baby (4 year old border collie) was surely in dog heaven (I had to watch my fingers). And...the lab...well, she eats anything. Thanks so much for sharing. I personally couldn't handle the liver thing so I used a 2.5 oz. beef baby food (I don't remember that smelling so bad when my kids were small) with about 3 oz. of beef & vege baby food ( 1/2 of a 6oz. jar) to keep the cost down and many other reviewers suggested it. I also added 1/2 cup old fashioned oats and about 1 Tbsp. flax seed (I had it on hand and the oil is good for the dogs), spread it on parchment paper in a 9 x 13 metal pan and cooked for 15 minutes, cut it up with a pizza cutter (as suggested) and couldn't have asked for more. Our 4 legged girls think you're the best---loved, loved, loved it. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Pilot Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I just made these tonight using the eggs, 2 each 2.5 oz jars of beef baby food and whole grain brown rice flour (gluten free) instead of whole wheat and then used a pizza cutter to slice them in to bite size pieces (about the size of a scrabble piece), and my yorkie LOVED them! He was diagnosed as diabetic back in September and it has been a challenge finding him treats that he likes that don't cost a small fortune, and now I can make these for him. I also bought the jars of chicken baby food for a little variety. They are so easy to make and the consistency is perfect---kind of spongy.I also have a non-diabetic sheltie who also loves them. All of the ingredients are very healthy, so I would recommend these for anyone who has a dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My dogs love these treats! I ran the liver through my Ninja using the double blade. I had enough room to add the flour and egg to it and also added a small amount of garlic and blended it all together. I used a large Wilton sheet cake pan lined with parchment paper. It baked in 15 mins as stated and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States