Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
You can even make this more diabetic friendly by using Rye flour instead of wheat flour. Rye flour has much less gluten and is much slower in converting into sugar in the body. Rye flour is also more flavorful and dogs love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I have two Shih Tzus. We just found out my little girl has diabetes. Have been very nervous giving her any treats. Made these today and she loves them. So does her brother, who is a fussy eater. Thank you so much for this recipe. While she has always been good with getting her shots, I feel better now that I can give her something she enjoys so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great Maxx and Emma loved them. I did not have any chicken hearts on hand so I used a packeage of chicken hot dogs. These were quick and easy to make. I used a bottle top as my cookie cutter and my picky eater started to break dance all over the floor after one taste. Can't wait to try other meats and see what they prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I gave 5 stars ting but I was on the website dogtreatkitchen.com and they said liver gives anemia and is toxic. I have a diabetic dog and am looking for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ Pickles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Once you try this recipe you won't ever make another. It's easy and no rolling out dough. I used turkey and chicken baby food instead of liver and then once baked I used a shot glass to do cut outs. Ended up with circles and stars and the dogs LOVE them!!! Whoever came up with this one...Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Dogs loved them! Used beef baby food and a little smaller pan so they were a little thicker. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
thanks, yes 1 of my 2 Chihuahuas have diabetes, and I appreciate you sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Easy & gobbled down with great enthusiasm, thank you! The wheat flour would be a bad idea for dogs prone to allergies, but it's easy enough to substitute. A note to those using baby food: it may contain onion powder, a no-no for dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I was blessed about 3 months ago with a oocker spaniel (who had been dumped, and overweight)... She woke up not walking one morning, off to the vet we went. She has pretty bad back problems!!! They had to put her o steroids, and said she needed to lose weight also!!! I found this recipe and decided it couldnt do her any harm!!! *Miley* loved them!!! I used a 6oz jar of chicken w/vegetables!! I just put some parchment paper on a cookie sheet and spread out the mix!!! Will make them a little thicker next time!!! Thank You for a *HEALTHY* recipe I can give my little blessing!!!! Miley thanks you too!!! Off to make another batch for my moms dog!!!! Revised... my moms dog that has no teeth and a very picky eater absolutly loves these treats... My dog and my mothers go absolutly nuts when they hear the bag coming from the fridge!!!! I reccomend this for any dog!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I boiled chicken necks,deboned and ground the meat in processor (2 cups ground chicken) then followed the recipe using the chicken instead of liver. Worked great! my DD loved them! I saved the broth and made homemade milkbone treats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Deslauriers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States