Diabetic Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Made these Last night for my dog, and for Xmas pressies for my dogs friends. These were really easy to make. I couldn't source Whole wheat flour so i used plain flour instead. This worked just as well. Only thing is they do smell horrible! But gave my dog the bowl to clean which she loved then gave her a small bit this morning and she couldn't get enough of it! Would make these again, as very cheap and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The recipe was so easy to do and my finicky Lhasa loves it. We have just found out she is diabetic and I am in the learning stage of taking care of her. Treats have always been a special part of her day, and now I can give her something that is so healthy and (and according to her) delicious. The only change I made was use the chicken breast instead of liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Griffin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
There is misinformation in some of the reviews that I'd like to clear up: gluten is not what raises blood sugar, starch is. Brown rice and the other flours you named are all starches, and all will affect blood sugar. Starch and sugar (naturally occurring or otherwise) both raise blood sugar; fiber, the third type of carbohydrate, does not. Just as for diabetic people, the whole-grain flour in this recipe is beneficial because the fiber in it helps keep blood sugar stable. // Made 9/9 for neighborhood event, using "manager's special" (i.e., on sale before it expired) ground lamb. My dogs gladly helped with "quality assurance testing," and they LOVE these. It's amazing that such a simple and easy recipe yields something dogs like so much. Cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
My bichon was recently diagnosed with diabetes, and he loves his treats, so I was delighted to find this recipe. I initially tried it substituting baby food for the liver. To my horror, I discovered baby food has sugar in it, so no more baby food. I have made it with lean ground beef and with chicken livers. I almost gagged with the liver thing, but the dogs like it. Think I will try chicken or turkey next. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I use chicken liver and chicken hearts. My dog goes crazy for these and I love that they are healthy for him. I have made these now for over 2 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I read through all the reviews, incorporated some of the suggestions and added my own. Here's what I used: • 1/2 cup of dessicated liver to one 15 ounce can of pumpkin (obviously, not pumpkin pie mix!) • 1 cup of brown rice flour • 1/2 cup of flax seeds • 4 eggs. I cooked it using the directions above and they came out perfectly. My dog knows now that the treats accompany the shots - he doesn't really like the shot but he REALLY likes the treats so makes giving the insulin very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
WOW!!!! I was just recentlly diagnosed with a severe case of diabeties. The next day my dad found this recipe. He did use the whole grain brown rice flour in the recipe because of the gluten in wheat flour. These things are grrreat. I even let him take my blood now and give me insulin shots because I know some of these yummy treats are comming. I'm feeling better now thanks to him and the best vet in the world(Dr. Hedges @ Brighten Vet in New Brighten, MN). Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. WALKER P.S. How can I keep him from eating them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
OMG! I made these treats a few days ago for my toy poodle who was diagnosed with diabetes in June. RC is a very, very picky eater and he is now scratching on the fridge because he knows that is where I put the bag of these treats. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
So easy to make and all twelve of my dogs love it. Made from the original recipe. Used a mini muffin non stick pan and they are the perfect size for each treat and just fall out of the pan. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Remember people,SORGHUM is not good for your dogs. It's worse than corn and has caused death in dogs who have never eaten it before so please be careful with your substitutes. Having a diabetic dog, we give her a weiner with each shot now, am going to make these instead for her. Thanks for thinking of our sugar deprived dogs, they are just as sweet as the regular dogs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States