Devil's Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
In a word, EXCELLENT!! I've made this a number of times in the past and it's always a hit! This is one of those sauces, for me anyway, that doesn't taste that great from a spoon, but put some on a perfectly grilled steak and it's HEAVEN!! Since we decided to grill steaks tonight I asked Hubs if he'd like a marsala wine sauce with it. He turned up his nose and said - how about the Devil's Steak Sauce? So he's obviously a fan of this recipe too. Five stars for this one all the way!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Served this with bacon wrapped beef filets tonight and we all agreed it was delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this for my husbands fathers day steak. AWESOME!! definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nevada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this sauce using a tablespoon of Tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce and cut the brown sugar in half since a lot of the comments stated the sauce was sweet. Came out nice and thick and very tasty. But I think it's much better on chicken or pork than a steak, both as a marinade and a BBQ sauce (as long as you use it as BBQ sauce after it comes off the grill). I think next time I grill a rib eye, I'll include some bleu cheese and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob in Houston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very good sauce with a good flavor. I will make this again, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This sause is simply amazing...my husband is putting it on everything. I used strawberry jam in it, and ketchup as well as exactly as the receipe is written...came out great. Used it to bake boneless, skinless chicken breast....love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
We are not a steak sauce family (I was looking for a recipe for catsup and ran across this; it looked intriguing, so I tried it) but this may change things! I took the advise of Shanagan and used tomato paste instead of sauce, which meant less cooking time to get to a good consistency. The flavor was good - a bit too sweet for us, so I think I will cut down a bit on the brown sugar next time - but the hint of raspberry really adds something. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
yummy! followed recipe, was sure to let the sauce bubble for 10 mins to thicken....it probably could have been a little thinner. great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Per another trusted reviewer (hey, SunnyByrd!) who thought this was maybe a bit too concentrated flavor-wise once it had cooked down, I doubled the recipe and decided to sub the tomato sauce with about 3/4 of a can of tomato paste so that I wouldn't have to reduce it quite so long. (I also used sriracha for the hot sauce, and added a few shakes of fish sauce for added complexity.) This honestly may be the best recipe I've tried on Allrecipes. It is sweet, but unique. We used about 1/3 cup as a quick marinade for sliced pineapple (if you haven't grilled pineapple you don't know what you're missing) which was outstanding - truly - with our steaks. I am a huge fan of A1, and I can honestly say I'll never buy it again. Edited to add: this is also a fantastic base recipe to play with and add your own spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is the only steak sauce my family wants now. I didn't make any changes. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States