Devil's Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This sause is simply amazing...my husband is putting it on everything. I used strawberry jam in it, and ketchup as well as exactly as the receipe is written...came out great. Used it to bake boneless, skinless chicken breast....love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
We are not a steak sauce family (I was looking for a recipe for catsup and ran across this; it looked intriguing, so I tried it) but this may change things! I took the advise of Shanagan and used tomato paste instead of sauce, which meant less cooking time to get to a good consistency. The flavor was good - a bit too sweet for us, so I think I will cut down a bit on the brown sugar next time - but the hint of raspberry really adds something. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
yummy! followed recipe, was sure to let the sauce bubble for 10 mins to thicken....it probably could have been a little thinner. great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Per another trusted reviewer (hey, SunnyByrd!) who thought this was maybe a bit too concentrated flavor-wise once it had cooked down, I doubled the recipe and decided to sub the tomato sauce with about 3/4 of a can of tomato paste so that I wouldn't have to reduce it quite so long. (I also used sriracha for the hot sauce, and added a few shakes of fish sauce for added complexity.) This honestly may be the best recipe I've tried on Allrecipes. It is sweet, but unique. We used about 1/3 cup as a quick marinade for sliced pineapple (if you haven't grilled pineapple you don't know what you're missing) which was outstanding - truly - with our steaks. I am a huge fan of A1, and I can honestly say I'll never buy it again. Edited to add: this is also a fantastic base recipe to play with and add your own spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is the only steak sauce my family wants now. I didn't make any changes. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
One of the best sauces I have ever used. I was a bit skeptical about raspberry jam, but thats what makes this recipe so delicious! A definite favourite in my house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
wow this was good, brought all the flavors from the grill, I did use cherry preserves all I had, but any fruit jam would work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Wonderful, I'm a nut for sweet and savory. This fits the bill. I just eyeballed the ingredients to our taste [ used everything basically the same, just doubled], I made to go with 'Deer Poppers' from this site, I'll diffently be making again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
this sauce is a keeper. my husband printed if out one night and said it sounded good let try it. i was a little hesatant. it sounds kinda sweet. we always double the sauce and add a little extra tomato sauce. it is so easy and taste so good. it is a great sauce and the recipe is used on a regular basis in our house. give it try you wont be sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very Good!! The only changes I made, based on a few of the reviews, was to add five shakes of Habanero Tabasco instead of five drops. It was hot and spicy and great! It didn't make much sauce after reducing, so next time I'll try doubling the recipe. I may also experiment with using tomato paste instead of sauce to aid in thickening and trying other jams. It's a great recipe. Thanks for sharing Bernard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States