Devil's Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We really liked this. I thought it was a tad sweet so I added a couple more drops of hot sauce and a few drops of liquid smoke. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I don't even use steak sauce but this was excellent! Used some home-made tomato jam instead of raspberry (which is much like an orange marmalade).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Lick the plate tasty. I'll admit it, I like steak sauce, the citrusy, smoky, sweet taste is the perfect foil for a hunk of grilled meat, but we were out and too lazy to drive to the store (even thought it is less than a mile away) so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. I had to adjust the ingredients a bit since I didn't have everything called for, I was missing the raspberry jam, of all things, so I subbed a mixture of blueberry jam (I really don't like blueberry jam, its been sitting in the fridge for ages) and marmalade, my thought was that my famous brand steak sauce had orange juice, so why not add it to this homemade version? Well, it turned out delish, my honeybun thought it was a bit sweet and added more hot sauce to his. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I've been using this site for quite a while, but nothing ever made me want to jump out of my seat and write a review like this one did!! It's complex, sweet, savory, rich, but not overpowering. AMAZING. When I tasted it alone, I was a little taken aback. It didn't taste like I thought it would, and I was wondering if I had forgotten an ingredient. But once I tried it with the steak....MAGIC! I'm in love. I recently ran out of my raspberry jam so I used boysenberry, which happens to be a family favorite, and it was RIDICULOUSLY GOOD. Also, I didn't have any tomato sauce on hand, so I used 2 TBSP of ketchup instead. Also used plain white vinegar as well. I didn't change the recipe because it was lacking in any area, I just substituted for what I had on hand. I'm curious to know what it tastes like with strawberry jam as well. I'd also like to do something like this over salmon...perhaps apricot? Will have to look into it. :) As for some people's complaints of it being too runny, the longer you SIMMER the sauce, not boil, over low heat, the thicker it will get. Also depends on your stove. On my range, I had to set it to 3, which is about med-low to keep a nice steady simmer. If you boil it won't thicken the way it needs to, and if you keep it TOO low, it won't either. Also, when you take it off of the heat it will thicken more as it cools. Just keep that in mind. :) Thank you so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellyBeans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This sauce was perfect with my steak! I loved it, but a couple of family members weren't as thrilled about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This sauce is perfect. I used kethcup instead of tomato sauce, white vinegar instead of malt, and strawberry jam. Still turned out awesome. I plan on making it as the recipe posted asks in the future. I also doubled all ingredients and did the boil/simmer process twice. Brought to a boil, simmered for ten, repeated. I thought it would turn out runny, it turned out thick after cooling, but not to thick. My wife and her sister loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccescon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Liked this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Yum. I substituted the raspberry jam with homemade peach and it is still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Pretty good!!! Made this with cider vinegar and ketchup instead of malt and tomato sauce. I doubt you could tell a difference. Ate this on grilled pork rib eyes! Hubby said he didn't think it would be good on beef....but we loved it on the pork. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great recipe! It's also great on pork. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States