Devil's Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I think A1 is overrated. If you don't like A1, this is the sause to go to. This steak sauce IS THE BEST!!!! It's sweet and tangy. Just perfect for Mr. Steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Really enjoyed this sauce on our cheesesteaks. We've been experimenting with different cuts of meat and cutting to different sizes. Finally hit on the way we like it and this sauce set it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was a nice change of pace. I do feel that this might be better as a sauce to be served with Duck. I felt it was too sweet after a while, even though I halved the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Oh my gosh this was good! I was a wondering with the name "Devil" that it might be too spicy for the dinner party I took it to, these people can't do spicy. It was delicious, not hot! I doubled the batch to have enough for 8 steak dinners. There was some leftover even though we liked it so much we kept adding it. Served with grilled tenderloin steaks, what a treat. I used ketchup instead of opening a can of tomato sauce and it was just fine, I just cut back on the brown sugar a little to compensate. Why go to a steak house when you can easily cook restaurant food at home?! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
wow. this was the best steak sauce i've ever tasted and this will be my go-to recipe for the rest of my LIFE! I was out of tomato sauce, so i used ketchup... and i used apple cider vinegar instead of malt. I was so skeptical about the raspberry jam, but that really is the "magical" ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We really liked this. I thought it was a tad sweet so I added a couple more drops of hot sauce and a few drops of liquid smoke. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I don't even use steak sauce but this was excellent! Used some home-made tomato jam instead of raspberry (which is much like an orange marmalade).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Lick the plate tasty. I'll admit it, I like steak sauce, the citrusy, smoky, sweet taste is the perfect foil for a hunk of grilled meat, but we were out and too lazy to drive to the store (even thought it is less than a mile away) so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. I had to adjust the ingredients a bit since I didn't have everything called for, I was missing the raspberry jam, of all things, so I subbed a mixture of blueberry jam (I really don't like blueberry jam, its been sitting in the fridge for ages) and marmalade, my thought was that my famous brand steak sauce had orange juice, so why not add it to this homemade version? Well, it turned out delish, my honeybun thought it was a bit sweet and added more hot sauce to his. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I've been using this site for quite a while, but nothing ever made me want to jump out of my seat and write a review like this one did!! It's complex, sweet, savory, rich, but not overpowering. AMAZING. When I tasted it alone, I was a little taken aback. It didn't taste like I thought it would, and I was wondering if I had forgotten an ingredient. But once I tried it with the steak....MAGIC! I'm in love. I recently ran out of my raspberry jam so I used boysenberry, which happens to be a family favorite, and it was RIDICULOUSLY GOOD. Also, I didn't have any tomato sauce on hand, so I used 2 TBSP of ketchup instead. Also used plain white vinegar as well. I didn't change the recipe because it was lacking in any area, I just substituted for what I had on hand. I'm curious to know what it tastes like with strawberry jam as well. I'd also like to do something like this over salmon...perhaps apricot? Will have to look into it. :) As for some people's complaints of it being too runny, the longer you SIMMER the sauce, not boil, over low heat, the thicker it will get. Also depends on your stove. On my range, I had to set it to 3, which is about med-low to keep a nice steady simmer. If you boil it won't thicken the way it needs to, and if you keep it TOO low, it won't either. Also, when you take it off of the heat it will thicken more as it cools. Just keep that in mind. :) Thank you so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellyBeans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This sauce was perfect with my steak! I loved it, but a couple of family members weren't as thrilled about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States