Devil's Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
this sauce is a keeper. my husband printed if out one night and said it sounded good let try it. i was a little hesatant. it sounds kinda sweet. we always double the sauce and add a little extra tomato sauce. it is so easy and taste so good. it is a great sauce and the recipe is used on a regular basis in our house. give it try you wont be sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very Good!! The only changes I made, based on a few of the reviews, was to add five shakes of Habanero Tabasco instead of five drops. It was hot and spicy and great! It didn't make much sauce after reducing, so next time I'll try doubling the recipe. I may also experiment with using tomato paste instead of sauce to aid in thickening and trying other jams. It's a great recipe. Thanks for sharing Bernard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Woo wee- Brilliant is right! I used lingonberry preserves because thats what I had on hand, and made this in the same pan that I just pan fried my steaks in, incorporating the pan drippings. I also subbed tomato paste for the sauce based on reviews that it came out runny- completely unnecessary if you're using a large pan (or a frying pan) like me. I ended up having to add some water to thin it out a bit. The flavor is great, an excellent balance of sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is a wonderful steak sauce. I doubled the recipe after using 5 shakes of Tabasco sauce as opposed to five drops. I increased everything 2 times and left the additional Tabasco out. It is now perfect! It has a lot of flavor and just the right amount of kick in the finish. Cudos to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I used strawberry jam and this stuff is so good I will not buy steak sauce ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I didn't have malt vinegar so I used cider. I did add two tsp. of cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. I thought this was insane-good, although a little sweet. I say it's not the recipe's fault as I think it was because of the vinegar substitution. I plan on buying it and making it to recipe and NEVER BUYING A-1 EVER AGAIN! Good with steak, even better with chicken. This would make a great marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Very flavorful and unique sauce that my son and I loved. It had a simmilar taste to bbq sauce but with an extra kick, not at all like the steak sauce you would find in the stores much much better. The raspberry jam is what really adds to this sauce, if you leave it out it would not be the same. I suggest doubling the sauce because you may just run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I fixed this before the Fourth of July to see how it was and then again at a cookout on the Fourth. Everyone fell in love with it and asked numerous time for the recipe. Not only is it good on steaks, but on any kind of beef, chicken and pork. I have to quadruple the recipe to make enough for all the things it is good with. Also tried it with shrimp and was just as good. Kudos to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
OMG!!! This is so good! I didn't change a thing, and it was a huge hit at our BBQ last night. I had people coming back for seconds just so they could have more sauce! Thank you so much for your post. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzbethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This sauce is great if you're sick of gravy and looking for an alternative sauce. I didn't have raspberry jam so used fig jam and didn't put in much hot sauce due to feeding it to young kids. But it still tasted great. Wouldn't use it all the time but great as an occasional taste change. Will make again but not for a month or two (its quite sweet!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States