Devils on Horseback Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Made these for an office holiday party and they were an instant hit. Baked them the entire 25 min so the bacon was completely well done. Doubled the recipe for the party and it was perfect! Am reading all the variations people have done and am thinking I will want to try some of them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CStaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made a batch of these tonight....they didn't last long! Great appetizer...a real "crowd pleaser" for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
i had high hopes for these but they didn't turn out so well. they taste okay but they didn't look impressive enough for me to bring to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I stuffed my dates with a piece of bleu cheese and smoked almond; otherwise made recipe as described. Very big hit at the office holiday pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UODUCK1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
These are amazing. I first had them at a restaurant and made them immediately the next week. Instead of a nut in the middle of the date, try blue cheese crumbles. I've made these without the sauce as well - anything wrapped in bacon is irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I did not enjoy the change of texture from jammy date to crunchy almond - sort of like you're chewing gum and then you decide to down a few peanuts. The flavors work together well enough - just not the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and it has always been a hit. Because the dates are sweet, I like to add Sonoma Jack habanero cheese. My store was out, so I have mixed camembert cheese with some habanero pepper and made a paste. The hard cheese usually works out well, so I'll have to see if a soft cheese works as well. Someone else suggested blue cheese, which I think would also be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very popular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I stuffed mine with jalapeños and skipped the brown sugar to save calories. It was fabulous and the whole tray lasted only 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Loved it! What's not to love? It's got BACON! Personally I think these are way too sweet, else I would give it 5 stars. I just dip the bottom of the bundle in brown sugar before baking. Gotta be the bottom that makes contact with the baking sheet because the brown sugar caramelizes as it bakes and it makes a wonderful texture. With this one tweak, they are PERFECT! Bringing them to a party tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Devil's Dentures

Turn ripe red apples into spooky, spiky, mangle-mouthed dentures.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States