Devil's Food Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
These cookies were very easy to make but I wasn't very impressed with the final product. The batter was crumbly and it was hard to get a nice shaped cookie. I had left over peanut butter chips in the bottom of the bowl that I didn't have enough cookie batter to mix with. The cookies tasted OK right out of the oven but after they're cooled they're little rocks. Definitely not cookies your can freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Made these for a cookie exchange at work. Most people loved them (peanut butter chips did not agree with everyone). But they were fast and easy and very tasty. An alternative would be to add coconut or nuts instead of the PB chips for a less sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I just made these cookies last week. This is a simple recipe, with simple results. I used chocolate chips instead of peanut butter. They came out perfect. There is nothing bad tasting obout these cookies, just nothing spectacular. If you are looking for something with some "oomp" in it, this is not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I did enjoy these cookies & they were super-easy to make. My mother has a book of recipes that use cake-mixes as a base, so the concept was not new to me... The baking time did need to be fiddled with a bit. First tray that went into the oven was 10 minutes, bottoms a little dark, & the chips were browned on top. Second tray...9 minutes...basically the same look. Tried the last tray @ 7 minutes & they were perfect...middles were a little un-done, but the next day they were still soft & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I've been making these cookies for close to twenty years when I frist saw the recipe in a newspaper article in Hints From Heloise. One difference was to use 1/2 cup of oil instead of the 2/3 cup shortening. I use all diifferent kinds of cake mixes and also different flavored chips but only about a cup instead of two cups. Sometimes I use nuts or crushed peppermints or M & M candies. The choices are endless with this recipe. But the Devil's Food Peanut Butter Chip cookie is one of the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I thought this recipe sounded good, but was sorely disappointed. I made them for my usual Christmas basket giveaways to friends and relatives, and will now actually have to throw them away. They came out of the oven absolutely perfect, and I tried one while it was still warm...heavenly, BUT, once the cookies had cooled completely, they were dry and crisp and hard. The only way to eat them now is to zap them in the microwave for 15 or 20 seconds. Definitely not going into my Christmas baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My mom made these cookies and they did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These cookies came out perfect! I followed the recipe exactly which I usually don't do. I did notice the first batch did almost burn. So, I recommened 8-9 mins max! And.. they do taste fine after cooled. Easy, fast, and simple! Great for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I really like this recipe, but I dont use the peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
For a really good cake mix cookie, try the chocolate fudge cookie recipe under cake mix recipes. Very good...soft cookies, not too sweet even though I used peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States