Devil's Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I failed this recipe. I wanted to make cup cakes and didn't think about the amount of baking soda actually in the batter. I had an over flow of cake batter, it was a horrible mess. I will try this recipe again but will make a real cake. That being said my two year old loved the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Cressy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Cake was in the oven almost 10 minutes whenit started to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very good cake, dense with chocolate flavor and moist. I liked the texture as well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. Tastes better than mix from a box and honestly just as easy. Really moist and delicious. Didn't realize the water needed to be boiled until I got up to that part so just remember to do that first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Delicious cake, if i made it again i would cook it 25 minutes instead of the 30 minutes the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britney Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have made numerous cakes from scratch and this is by far the best one every. I did use dark chocolate chips and 1/4 cup natural process cocoa and decreased the sugar in it to 1.5 cups because we prefer dark chocolate and less sweet. I made it for my husband and grandsons birthday party and everyone there said it was the best cake they had ever eaten. It was even a bigger hit than the red and blue velvet spiderman cake which was also a from scratch cake. I am using this recipe for cupcakes and cake balls for the sweet table at a wedding I am catering this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tasena
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I didn't change a thing, and the cake turned out great! I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very good chocolate cake. Very chocolatey, moist and dense. Don't be put off by the vinegar; vinegar + milk = buttermilk, so it's just like using buttermilk in a recipe. I had some trouble with the bottom sticking on one of my layers, but the next time I used a greased parchment circle on the bottom of the pan and it came out nice and clean, no sticking. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Turned out great first time! Used my Bundt pan and served plain. Very moist and perfect chocolate flavor. Keeping this in my library.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I whipped this together for my grandchildren and they loved it! I didn't have squares of chocolate, so used 3 TBSP of cocoa with an extra TBSP of butter per square, and instead of the vinegar, I used actual buttermilk. It went together so quickly and it was moist and delicious. I made a cocoa buttercream icing. Wi!ll definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States