Deviled Eggs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I was bored today so I made 4 different recipes for deviled eggs at the same time and had neighbors & friends do a taste test. This one came in 2nd. It was okay, but a little dry and plain. If I had deviated from the recipe it would have been better but it was still just a plain base recipe. The other recipes in my taste test were "Cajun Deviled Eggs" by Denyse, "Deviled Eggs" by Barbara, and "Deviled Eggs" by Margaret Sanders. Margaret's were the unanimous winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
These were excellent and easy to make!!! If using fresh eggs, put lots of salt in the boiling water to make it easier to remove the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
The amount of vinegar in this recipe has been updated from 3 tablespoons to 1 teaspoon. We suggest adjusting the amount to taste. Happy cooking! The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Super recipe, and here are the modifications that I made: 2 Tablespoons of mayo. 1/2 teaspoon of mustard 1 Tablespoon of chopped sweet pickle relish Left out paprika (doesn't work for us) No lettuce, we don't make a big presentation, we just want to eat it. I'd been searching for a GOOD deviled egg recipe for a long time. I knew SOME of what my folks use to put in theirs, this recipe worked with the above additions. With tons of appetizers out there, the eggs were gone within the first hour - high praise indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I LOVE deviled eggs and this is a good basic recipe. I added more mayo, as I like the consistancy creamier. I also seasoned with a little garlic and onion powder and a bit of cayenne for an added kick. Because I was taking this to a dinner party I put the mixture into a pastry bag and piped with a star tip. I served the eggs on a bed of baby spinach leaves. Thanks for a great recipe Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I love deviled eggs - they're a classic that just screams summer! I use white wine vinegar vs. plain white vinegar because it's a little milder. I also use dijon mustard and add sour cream along with the mayo to make them creamier plus a dash of hot sauce for good measure. These go quick at BBQ's so be sure to make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I definietly had to tinker with this one a bit! The vinegar was a nice little kick...But I had to add more mayo because the filling was very dry. Then I had to add more mustard because the extra mayo began to overpower the flavor of the mustard. Not a bad recipe, but I'll continue searching for a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This is a good recipe, however we like our filling creamier. I liked the flavor the vinegar imparted, so I added a touch more of the vinegar and more mustard, mayo and a bit of prepared horseradish sauce. Yum! Thanks Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Ummmmmmm, ummmmmmm, yummy, this is the recipe I've been looking for, for far too long. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
These were really tasty and good. Very simple and easy and the vinegar gives them a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States