Deviled Eggs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very tasty, very basic deviled egg recipe. Nothing spectacular, but nothing bad about it. Awesome for a beginner! Next time, I will jazz it up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very simple but very good recipe. Used regular mustard instead of mustard powder. Always easier to put filling in ziploc/sandwich bag, snipping corner and using that to fill eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I grew up on this recipe, my this is how my grandmother made deviled eggs, but she never wrote it down. I've been looking for it, but everything I have found up until now has all sorts of extra stuff in it, but this is how it should be done! Nice and simple, the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smile5210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This recipe wasn't bad. I used a mixture of light Mayo and miracle whip, which gave it a slight zing. I also used smoked paprika to (obviously)give it a nice smokey flavor, which I thought was tastey. Regarding the review above; the tint of the yolk mixture doesn't matter so much if you sprinkle more paprika over the eggs when finished, like the picture above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is a good basic egg recipe but boy do I wish I had read other reviews before making it. DO NOT put the paprika in with your egg yolk mash. The paprika turns the filling this weird orange color. It is VERY unattractive. I made them for a bridal shower and (whereas they taste fine) only about 3 or 4 of the eggs got eaten because of the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Followed other reviewers' suggestions and used prepared mustard and just sprinkled the eggs with paprika afterward. This was so easy and the eggs were gone the next day. The only thing I would do differently is add a pinch of salt to the yolk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I threw this recipe together while I was having a picnic. I used all the 'suggestions' including using ice water to cool them more quickly AND added the tsp of vinegar to give it a little "kick". They were a huge hit but the best suggestion was to put the filling in the sandwich bag and squeeze it into the halves...I know it seems simple but to a beginner like me, it saved me a HUGE mess! I also impressed my guests with such a great idea! Also, I didn't follow the instructions by measurement, I did all ingredients by taste. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I personally like mine with a little spicy kick - I guess horseradish is where I would have gotten that but didn't have any on hand. They really did turn out terrific, made 36 deviled egg halves, all were devoured within 30 mins... I'd say they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These were prety good, but I think I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Has anyone ever seen orange color filled deviled eggs? Neither have it. This recipe called for 1/2 teaspoon of paprika...ruined my deviled eggs for a party I have tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Great basic recipe, and thanks for posting! I remember my first try at this. I used too much mustard and salt... So I cut it (literally) and added a bit of sweet pickle juice from gherkin jar and a dab of honey. People raved at the company potluck and all wanted recipe (even though there were 4 other deviled egg bringers). I wish I knew the exact measure of ingredients, but I just "winged it", LOL! I told them it was a family secret, hehe. Doubt I could ever reproduce the exact taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States