Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I was bored today so I made 4 different recipes for deviled eggs at the same time and had neighbors & friends do a taste test. This one was the UNANIMOUS WINNER. It is creamy and zesty, but not too much flavor for a deviled egg. The texture and taste are the best I have ever had, and several of the judges said the same thing. I highly recommend this recipe! The other recipes in my taste test were "Cajun Deviled Eggs" by Denyse, "Deviled Eggs II" by Mary Brotherton, and "Deviled Eggs" by Barbara. None of them came close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1031 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
10 Stars! These were made for Easter dinner, and honestly I wish I had made more. Following the recipe, I boiled six eggs, and easily my crew could have eaten a dozen, but trying a new recipe you just never know...but, this one's worth doubling! Here is what I did: I started with perfect boiled eggs (place eggs in pan with cold water and a bit of oil, bring to a boil and then turn off heat. Cover, and let sit for 15 minutes for large eggs, 17 for extra large. Cool in ice water. You will never have a green egg yolk, and it will peel easily, promise!) I followed the yolk recipe exactly, except for the salt per other reviews. I salted to taste, about 1/8 tsp. Once the yolk mixture was stirred together, I "creamed" it by putting into a plastic baggie and squeezed the baggie to mix, (enlisting the help of nine year old son who had the most fun "smooshing" this mixture)! Then I cut off one corner of the baggie and piped the filling into the egg whites. Beautiful presentation, smooth and creamy and YUMMY! Not too sweet, as others have mentioned, with just the right amount of tart. Top with paprika, and they will think you are the Deviled Egg Queen! Can't wait for summer picnics with this one! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
543 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I had to try this a few times until I got it to what I was looking for. I have a good relish/horseradish recipe - so I was wanting a good classic (creamy, sweet & tangy) recipe. For 12 eggs (heck, if you are going to do all of this work - you might as well make a bunch of them!) I used 1/2 cup regular mayonnaise, 1 tsp. ground mustard (instead of prepared), 2 tsp. sugar, 2 tsp. apple cider vinegar (instead of white), 1/8 tsp. salt, and paprika for garnish. Perfecto! Tip: the day before you make them, place the eggs on their side within the carton (carton lid will have to remain open) so that all of the yolks will center and make nice thick whites. Also, the older the eggs are - the easier they are to peel. Fresh eggs are the hardest to peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
515 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Delicious. The paparika gave it an extra kick. For easy prep, put the mixture into a plastic baggie & cut the end off, then squeeze into the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Waay too salty ....I just ruined a perectly good batch by following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
These are great! Made 3 dozen. I used almost double the amount of mayo and halved salt due to other reviews. FYI: the fresher your eggs, the harder they will be to peel!! I salted my water because it's supposed to make peeling easier, didn't work! The sooner the "Use By" date is the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I added a tablespoon sweet relish and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
The Sugar and White Vinegar add a little something that make this recipie delicious. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Deviled eggs are a classic! I doubled the recipe because my husband can eat half a batch all my himself. I left out the sugar, used light mayo, white wine vinegar and dijon mustard. I added a dash of Frank's Red Hot and cut down on the salt. These came out very creamy and were gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These were excellent deviled eggs. They seemed to soften up and "run" just a little bit after having not been out for too long. To combat this, I'd drain the water from a pickle relish if you use it and add a touch more mustard powder. Excellet flavor and ease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States