Deviled Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not sure why this didn't rate up more. We prefer it over the traditional version any day. But, we love spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was the best chex mix. Even the picky child loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
i never made a chex mix before this. microwaving proved to be mush easier than baking. plus, the seasonings were great =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I used only rice and corn Chex. I added more goldfish crackers instead of using nuts. I baked it at 250 for 45 minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This blend of spices rocks! I used this spice blend with my usual chex mix recipe: Plenty of chex cereals, 1 cup raw cashews, 1 small bag of popped popcorn (kettle corn is awesome in chex mix) and I use melted Smart Balance spread instead of oils or butter. Trying to keep the ingredients as healthy as possible, while still making a mix people oooh and awwwwww over! We leave out the pretzels and cheese crackers....nobody really likes that stuff. This recipe didn't call for cayenne pepper, but I added it anyway so I could reduce the amount of salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Really good! A little spicy, a little sweet, perfect balance! I did change some things though...I did not use coriander, but I added 1 tsp each garlic and onion powder, and I used butter instead of oil (didn't have any) I also baked mine instead of using the microwave. I spread the mixture out onto 2 cookie sheets and baked at 350 for about 15 minutes, stirring it a couple times so it wouldn't burn. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent the whole family loved it, although my son said he preferred the original chex mix recipe... but I made some changes. As one of the previous reviewers said, I used butter instead of vegetable oil (6 T.) Also, substituted cherrios for wheat chex. Left out the nuts and increased the pretzels and miniature ritz crackers (substituted for cheese crackers). Also, left out salt and pepper. Added 1 t. onion powder and 1 t. garlic powder instead. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curlyfry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Didn't actually have as much taste as I would have expected give the LARGE amount of spices, but still a good taste. Perhaps a bit too much sugar? i just discovered the key to help mix - just use a large bag (ziploc, etc), dump, and SHAKE. Easy. I live in England so don't actually have Chex so used 5 cups Shreddies and 4 cups cheerios instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
***KEEP IN COVERED CONTAINER(S): be advised that mix cannot remain out in opened bowls for too long because it becomes stale pretty quickly & loses its flavor. See my toned down version, Cheerios & Chex mix...*** Back to the Deviled Chex Mix rec: It's a tasty combo of spices! I only used 2 Tbsp of sugar & added 1/2 tsp of onion pwdr, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, & two finger pinches of cayenne pepper. I also only used what I had on hand which was 3 cups corn Chex, 3 cups rice Chex, 1 cup Cheerios, & 1 cup peanuts. Only nuke the mix for 2 minutes, stirring after one minute or the nuts will be yuck... off-topic tip: use your old, big popcorn (or cookie) tins to store & keep cereal fresh. I also keep a cup scoop inside w/the cereal. I bought a box each of rice & corn Chex & keep them mixed up together in one large tin. The other tin I have Cheerios in at the moment. I label the tins, hand printing the cereal name in big letters on printer paper, cut it out, & tape it to one side of the tin. I actually have 3 labels on one tin: Corn Rice Chex, Shredded Wheat, and Marshmallow Mateys. Whichever cereal is in the tin, I have that label facing out. The other tin, I have one label that says: Honey Os or Cheerios or Scooters. The tins store prettily on top of the fridge for quick access to our freshly kept cereals! =) P.S. I also made our peanuts chewy by soaking them in sugar water (1/2 cup water & 1/2 tbsp sugar) for 10 min.s first, drain well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
The Chex Mix Taste Much Better Cooked In The OVEN not the Microwave. Gary McCraw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Chef John's Deviled Eggs

See how to make sinfully delicious deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States