Devil Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Granted, it's been many years since I've had a Devil Dog, but these don't taste anything like the treat I remember as my favorite from childhood. Both the cake and filling are just ok. With three teenagers in the house, they'll get eaten, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is just ok. It doesn't have a deep chocolate flavor, and the texture is on the dry side, not dense or moist. I wouldn't make it again without adding something to make it more devil's food cake-like. My family didn't go nuts for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe, made a bundt cake and piped the filling inside. The filling does taste exactly like Devil Dog cream filling. In the first step of the filling making I whisked the flour and milk constantly on the stove top until all the lumps were stirred out and the mixture was thick. Then I let it cool completely. I used my stand mixer for creaming the sugar, shortening and vanilla. Then added the cooled flour/milk mixture. The filling came out terrific no problems. Tastes just like the treats I remember from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
i followed the recipe to the letter. The cakes didn't rise and tasted awful, and the cream filling tasted worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
These are pretty tasty. You do have to underbake them a bit so the edges don't turn crispy, and I added a LOT more powdered sugar to the filling (and extra milk to compensate) so it wouldn't taste so much like shortening. Also, 1.5 to 2 batches of the filling works pretty well. All in all, great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were really good! Be careful with the baking times, it is really easy to overbake. Mine turned out a little crunchy at the edges. They still tasted great, but I was hoping for more cakey texture. The batter spreads quite a bit, so provide plenty of space between each drop. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening simply because I was almost out of shortening. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Johnson Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These are very good. Sweet, but not TOO sweet. I think the number of servings on this recipe is wrong. Using the smallest pampered chef scoop (which is right at 1 Tbs), I got about 40 cookies (20 sandwiches). I doubled the cream recipe and had WAY too much of it. I'm going to make another batch of cookies this afternoon to use up the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Simple, and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pencake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
We don't have Devil Dogs where I live but we do have Suzy Q and they are like them.I Doubled the filling using butter as I was out of shortening and put cocoa in half of it and in the white half I added almond extract. After the first batch ,I made the cakes smaller than a tablespoon because they really puff up in the oven. I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Loved them!!! I doubled the recipe for the filling and used every bit!!! My first batch burnt a little on the bottom so I turned the oven down to 400, the rest turned out perfect!! The filling required about 5 mins of high speed whipping for the suger to mix in properly. This is a nice recipe to make with kids, and the ingredience are staples in alot of homes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States