Devil Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I tried this recipe this evening. Just finished making it as a matter of fact. I really, really like it. Ok, now, for those who said they had a problem with it being gritty. I really had to beat this for awhile, maybe 20 minutes. I started it first, then started the cooking the flour and milk mixture. I also used butter and sugar together and let it whip and cream. (I used butter because I can't stand shortening) I just kept mixing it until it was smooth and creamy. Added in the flour mixture and beat it for about another 5 minutes. Added the vanilla and let it beat for about 1 more minute. When I was finished, I piped it into the center of my cupcakes. Now, I did not use the recipe on here, I have my own that I like. So, I cannot comment on the cake part of the recipe. The flavor is really, really good too. If you have a problem with the flavor, I highly suggest you make sure you did NOT use a self rising flour or cake flour. You need all purpose flour for this. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Granted, it's been many years since I've had a Devil Dog, but these don't taste anything like the treat I remember as my favorite from childhood. Both the cake and filling are just ok. With three teenagers in the house, they'll get eaten, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is just ok. It doesn't have a deep chocolate flavor, and the texture is on the dry side, not dense or moist. I wouldn't make it again without adding something to make it more devil's food cake-like. My family didn't go nuts for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe, made a bundt cake and piped the filling inside. The filling does taste exactly like Devil Dog cream filling. In the first step of the filling making I whisked the flour and milk constantly on the stove top until all the lumps were stirred out and the mixture was thick. Then I let it cool completely. I used my stand mixer for creaming the sugar, shortening and vanilla. Then added the cooled flour/milk mixture. The filling came out terrific no problems. Tastes just like the treats I remember from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
i followed the recipe to the letter. The cakes didn't rise and tasted awful, and the cream filling tasted worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
These are pretty tasty. You do have to underbake them a bit so the edges don't turn crispy, and I added a LOT more powdered sugar to the filling (and extra milk to compensate) so it wouldn't taste so much like shortening. Also, 1.5 to 2 batches of the filling works pretty well. All in all, great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were really good! Be careful with the baking times, it is really easy to overbake. Mine turned out a little crunchy at the edges. They still tasted great, but I was hoping for more cakey texture. The batter spreads quite a bit, so provide plenty of space between each drop. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening simply because I was almost out of shortening. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Johnson Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These are very good. Sweet, but not TOO sweet. I think the number of servings on this recipe is wrong. Using the smallest pampered chef scoop (which is right at 1 Tbs), I got about 40 cookies (20 sandwiches). I doubled the cream recipe and had WAY too much of it. I'm going to make another batch of cookies this afternoon to use up the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Simple, and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pencake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
We don't have Devil Dogs where I live but we do have Suzy Q and they are like them.I Doubled the filling using butter as I was out of shortening and put cocoa in half of it and in the white half I added almond extract. After the first batch ,I made the cakes smaller than a tablespoon because they really puff up in the oven. I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States