Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Chris Fourqurean
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wow these are awesome! They smelled great the whole way through the process and drool-worthy at the end. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fourqurean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These were delicious ! I did a batch in the smoker as well . MMMMMMMMmmmmmm , yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Ronde, Oregon, USA
Living In: Otis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bzntch
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Just finished cooking these bad boys and will be devouring them tomorrow during the first day of big boy football! I ate a few tonight to get my mouth watering, and let me tell you these things rock! My suggestions, taking into accounts some other wings I have previously grilled: use less butter (1/4 cup is fine), do not exceed 1 tspn Cayenne unless you want your ___ on fire, and finally the most important thing............. after soaking your wings in the sauce, throw back on the grill, cook 1-2 min. Put BACK in sauce, then back on the grill. Do this a couple of times til you have no more sauce to dunk them in...... a little extra work but you will get the most flavor, and you can thank me later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very tasty! I added garlic to it as well, but that was the only alteration. I like how it's just enough to give the wings a good taste however it's not over powering. I will definitely continue to make this. And thank you for a new camping recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
best wings i've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My wife and friends all greatly enjoyed these wings. We have made them twice, the first time was somewhat of a failure. The second time they were amazing. Between the two tries we learned that Franks Thick Hot Sauce works best, the first attempt with regular was a bit to watery but the thick allowed for it to stick to the meat a lot better. We also learned to stick with the wing style chicken rather then the bigger drum-lets. The drum sticks were way to big and the hot sauce flavor was not strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
We loved the recipe but switched the order. We boiled the wings in liquids first then grilled. We also added fresh garlic. Either way, it is a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I loved this recipe as a base for really good hot wings. We doubled the recipe and did them in the oven. We seasoned with cajun seasoning (recipe from this site) and salt and pepper then cooked them for about half an hour before tossing them in the sauce. 2 cups honey was entirely too much (plus we didnt have it). We used 1/2 cup, I think. It added just a hint of sweetness that complimented the heat nicely. FYI: Be sure that you use good hot sauce. We only had some cheap, off brand stuff that wasn't so hot and the wings would've been beter if we'd used better, hotter sauce. Even so, these are the best wings I've had in years!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
these were really good. my boys enjoyed them with just the honey that we basted on during cooking. i will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Wow! I give these a 5+++++!! What a hit at the 4th of July party we attended! These came out so good that I actually ate three of them. I never eat wings, cuz they always taste too "vinagery" for me, but these are the answer to that dilimma. We seasoned the wings with red/black pepper, garlic and powder and salt and let them sit overnight in the fridge. My husband cooked them at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes, basting with honey after about 10 minutes. We tossed in the sauce mixture, rolled the wings around and served them up (they were all gone in under 5 minutes). I'm sending this recipe to four people today and printing a copy for my brother-in-law. ''This is an AWESOME recipe@!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States