Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made these wings for game day and were a hit!!! I did omit the cayenne pepper and used onion and garlic powder instead, the only hot sauce i had on hand at the time was frank's xtra hot sauce so didn't think i needed cayenne. The second time i made them i omitted the butter and they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Breaded with cayenne, salt, pepper, and flour and baked in oven at 425 for 45 minutes. Then tossed wings in sauce and baked for another 5 minutes. They really werent that spicy as written, but definatly easy to make them spicer if you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
My husband made these last night on his own. He cooked them in the oven, 425* for almost 45 minutes. This recipe is one of the best wing recipes we've ever had. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This recipe works for delicious fried hot wings! I am not a big fan of HOT, but these were good. More of a "kick" than hot for the sake of hot. Like others, I added garlic powder and I upped the cayenne. For 8 lbs of chicken, I used the following mix: 2 tbsp black pepper, 2 tbsp salt, 2 tbsp garlic powder and 4 tsp of cayenne. Tip - mix the seasoning in a salt shaker and dispense from there. I heavily seasoned the wings with the spices and let them sit in the refrigerator for about 5 hours. Then we dredged them in flour seasoned with the same seasoning and deep fried them. We let them sit on paper towels for a couple of minutes until they were free of the excess grease, before dunking them in the sauce. Because I didn't pay close enough attention to the amounts called for in the original recipe, MY sauce ended up being a 50/50 mixture of the honey and hot sauce (2 cups honey/2 cups hot sauce - Texas Pete) along with the called for butter. Because the wings were dipped in the sauce after cooked, it was safe to put out the remaining sauce so that those who wanted to could spoon it over their wings. I prepard the wings for a Super Bowl party, so I placed them in a crock pot to keep them warm. As time passed, they lost some of their crispiness, but they were still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Oh my these were the best wings I have had. Had to bake them in the oven and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darsbob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were really good but (as others have mentioned) next time I would definitely cut back on the butter. I'm usually a yay-for-butter person, but the half cup was definitely too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgotten-english

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!! The only thing different I did was to double the recipe for more wings and still only used about 1/4 cup of butter. I also added a shot of whiskey just for kicks (We were drinking it anyways!!) Did them on the grill and they were so amazing. The hubby loved it even though he was very concerned about the amount of honey. We went through every wing we had and even dipped the fries in the leftover sauce. 10 stars if I could!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie O
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My husband typically will not eat wings, but with these he could not stop eating! Everyone else loved them too. I would not change a thing on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
After having these in my recipe box for over a year, I finally made them last night. Sadly, the storm was too bad to put them on the grill but they were still amazing in the oven!!!! Can't wait to make them on the grill next time, and I'll probably do a mild and spicy version. (This recipe as is would be considered the mild version.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Just the right heat for everyone in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Honey Sriracha Chicken Wings

See how to make delicious baked, but still incredibly crispy, chicken wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States