Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Just made grilled wings for the first time using this recipe. They are much better than i thought they would be! I browned them fairly dark so that they would have crispier skins and they were juicy and good. Cooked them probably 15 min as they were on the small side. When seasoning the wings prior to cooking, I added garlic powder, paprika, and chili powder to the salt, black pepper and cayenne. I thought this added a lot of nice flavor to the meat. When making the sauce, I used unsalted butter so they wouldn't be as salty (since I salted the meat prior to grilling and Frank's Red Hot has salt). I would only use 1/3 c. butter next time as I didn't quite need it all for 3 lbs of wings. I also think the final sauce only needs 1/4 c. honey as it was pretty sweet. I thickened it up with a few dashes of corn starch as well, think that worked out pretty nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Amazing! I would just lay off the butter, it made my sauce watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Made as written for sauce. Used chicken legs instead of wings. All loved! (Those that like the heat, anyway!) Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Amazing! I marinated chicken legs (got a ton on sale) over night in half of the hot sauce and honey. I subbed red pepper flakes for the cayenne b/c I am out. I also forgot the butter and these were still amazing, perfect combo of sweet and spicy! Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
this recipe is awesome!! i made it for my super bowl party and everyone LOVED them! they have just enough heat so they're not too hot, but they definitely leave a good burn once you're done. i will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made these wings for game day and were a hit!!! I did omit the cayenne pepper and used onion and garlic powder instead, the only hot sauce i had on hand at the time was frank's xtra hot sauce so didn't think i needed cayenne. The second time i made them i omitted the butter and they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Breaded with cayenne, salt, pepper, and flour and baked in oven at 425 for 45 minutes. Then tossed wings in sauce and baked for another 5 minutes. They really werent that spicy as written, but definatly easy to make them spicer if you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
My husband made these last night on his own. He cooked them in the oven, 425* for almost 45 minutes. This recipe is one of the best wing recipes we've ever had. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This recipe works for delicious fried hot wings! I am not a big fan of HOT, but these were good. More of a "kick" than hot for the sake of hot. Like others, I added garlic powder and I upped the cayenne. For 8 lbs of chicken, I used the following mix: 2 tbsp black pepper, 2 tbsp salt, 2 tbsp garlic powder and 4 tsp of cayenne. Tip - mix the seasoning in a salt shaker and dispense from there. I heavily seasoned the wings with the spices and let them sit in the refrigerator for about 5 hours. Then we dredged them in flour seasoned with the same seasoning and deep fried them. We let them sit on paper towels for a couple of minutes until they were free of the excess grease, before dunking them in the sauce. Because I didn't pay close enough attention to the amounts called for in the original recipe, MY sauce ended up being a 50/50 mixture of the honey and hot sauce (2 cups honey/2 cups hot sauce - Texas Pete) along with the called for butter. Because the wings were dipped in the sauce after cooked, it was safe to put out the remaining sauce so that those who wanted to could spoon it over their wings. I prepard the wings for a Super Bowl party, so I placed them in a crock pot to keep them warm. As time passed, they lost some of their crispiness, but they were still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Oh my these were the best wings I have had. Had to bake them in the oven and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darsbob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States