Detroit Hot Honey Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
These were great. I have also cheated before and took pre-made frozen hot wing, then brushed them with the honey-hot sauce-butter mix. Really jazzes them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela Batovsky
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I have made this several times, but I haven't had the chance to rate it until now =) We love this recipe. I have made it with the cayenne pepper and without. It is great both ways. When my hubby made it without the cayenne he used BBQ seasoning instead. It was just as good. I think I used more honey than what it said, so I guess it just depends on the person barbecuing. Thanks for this recipe. It has gone down into my family recipe book, we use it all the time. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Batovsky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
We have tried a few recipes in the past and none of them have even come close. These wings are awesome!!! We used half the honey the recipe called for. That was the only thing we changed. Thanx for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifey110
Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
My daughter as well as my brother in law where at my home when we made these and I had to make another batch right away. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I rather disliked these. Maybe if some direction had been given regarding what "hot sauce" to use I'd have had better luck. The honey flavor was prominent and weird and did NOT go well with the hot sauce I used. I could not get the sauce to "set" after I returned them to the grill. It mostly just ran off into the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I tried this recipe and I loved it, the wings were spicy (just how we like them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
We did not feel the need to baste them in honey while they were cooking and added about 1/4 cup extra hot sauce and they turned out amazing. I served them at a party and they were gone in minutes. My husband is a traditional wing fan and liked them, but wasn't as sold on them as others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Okay, I loved the basic recipe and I am originally from the "D" so I had to try it. I ended up putting my own spin on it. I mixed Lawrey's Seasoned salt, garlic powder, onion powder, cracked black pepper and the cayenne pepper in a bowl (to taste). I seasoned my wings, fried them and did a batch minus the cayenne pepper for the kids. I enjoyed them "dry" by baking the honey on, then tossing them hot in the sauce and sticking them back in the oven for about 5 minutes!!! I used the remaining sauce as a dip. We had it with carrots, celery, oven fries and Ranch Dressing. Nothing but lip smacking goodness. I went back to wrap up the leftovers, but there weren't any...nothing but bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
AWESOME! Wow, we loved these wings and so did everyone at the party. I am going to make them again, only this time I am not going to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grill Sergeant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Loved Them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Honey Sriracha Chicken Wings

See how to make delicious baked, but still incredibly crispy, chicken wings.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States