Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The first time the sugar recrystalized. The second time it was a watery white weird looking sauce. Then I read the #1 tip which is to heat the sugar by itself first to get that nice caramel color. The taste is a 4. I would try the recipe again with the change of directions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Changed it up a bit after reading the reviews. 3/4 cup butter and only two cups sugar. Let it get to golden brown before adding the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I had to cook it for about 20 min to get it to turn golden at all, and all the sugar clumped against the sides of the pot like solid rock! I ended up with only half as much as I would have had, because it was all stuck solid to the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
May take a couple of tries to get this recipe right, but it's worth it. I have made this recipe half a dozen times and here's what I've learned: 1) It will take way longer than 10 minutes for your sugar to dissolve and caramelize -- just leave it alone until it starts to turn golden brown and has a distinct caramelized aroma 2) SLOWLY pour in the cream -- otherwise you will have a gloopy mess (I usually let the cream sit out and come closer to room temp while the sugar is caramelizing) 3) Use all white sugar -- with brown sugar it's difficult to tell when it has caramelized and it might come out grainy 4) Use 1/4 cup less sugar -- as written, 1 1/2 cups is too sweet. Overall four stars for the misleading directions overly sweet taste when made as directed. Once you decrease the sugar and figure out the right time to add the cream, this is a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Very good with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter and it was watery with chunks of crystallized sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delicious! Perfect over ice cream. I added a couple of tablespoons of corn syrup to prevent crystallization, but other than that made as directed. Don't cheat the color by adding brown sugar. The flavor isn't nearly as good. Wait for the white sugar to caramelize. The wait is worth it and it WILL happen, I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Wow, yummy. Took a while to thicken..but worth it! Instead of vanilla I added a splash of Captain Morgans spiced Rum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great caramel sauce. I used it to drizzle on a cheesecake. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A great caramel recipe...and for my first time making caramel, it turned out perfect. I did use the half Demerara sugar and half white, and I let this melt down a little - about 3 minutes on medium heat - on its own before adding the water and butter. I didn't stir this at all for about 8 minutes, and then added the remaining ingredients. Then I stirred it for about half an hour, adding 1tsp of cornstarch to help thicken it, still over a medium heat. Really happy with how it turned out...thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States