Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I followed Eillen's method of cooking & I believe it would be great except I think I darkened my sugar too much. & it has a slightly burnt taste. Next time I will turn the heat from medium to low when melting sugar. But pretty easy and I liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Tastes delicious! Even my very picky 6 year old said it was good. "Better than grandma's!" Is what she said. I did follow recommendations to do half white and half brown sugar. It was runny but hopefully with some fridge cooling it will thicken up, or perhaps more practice on my part. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I replaced the water with spiced rum as previously suggested and used it as a topping for apple bars - it was amazing! And a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I'm not much of a caramel person, but this hit the spot! So easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe! A lot of the other comments said that it didn't thicken, but it did fine for me after I refrigerated it. The most important part is NOT stirring it before the sugar dissolves or it will crystalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The first time the sugar recrystalized. The second time it was a watery white weird looking sauce. Then I read the #1 tip which is to heat the sugar by itself first to get that nice caramel color. The taste is a 4. I would try the recipe again with the change of directions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Changed it up a bit after reading the reviews. 3/4 cup butter and only two cups sugar. Let it get to golden brown before adding the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I had to cook it for about 20 min to get it to turn golden at all, and all the sugar clumped against the sides of the pot like solid rock! I ended up with only half as much as I would have had, because it was all stuck solid to the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
May take a couple of tries to get this recipe right, but it's worth it. I have made this recipe half a dozen times and here's what I've learned: 1) It will take way longer than 10 minutes for your sugar to dissolve and caramelize -- just leave it alone until it starts to turn golden brown and has a distinct caramelized aroma 2) SLOWLY pour in the cream -- otherwise you will have a gloopy mess (I usually let the cream sit out and come closer to room temp while the sugar is caramelizing) 3) Use all white sugar -- with brown sugar it's difficult to tell when it has caramelized and it might come out grainy 4) Use 1/4 cup less sugar -- as written, 1 1/2 cups is too sweet. Overall four stars for the misleading directions overly sweet taste when made as directed. Once you decrease the sugar and figure out the right time to add the cream, this is a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Very good with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States