Dessert Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Very easy and very yummy! I love that it has so few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I love this recipe! I like to make big batches of cookies at a time and freeze them, and these freeze really well. I doubled the recipe and used an 11 x 17 jelly roll pan. I also have used different fillings instead of the jam, like apple pie filling, pineapple filling, and I've even used a chocolate hazelnut spread and almond paste in the middle. This recipe is very versatile, be creative and try different jams, preserves and fillings. The dough is stiff enough, it works with just about anything you put in the middle. Also, for the top layer, I just crumbled some of the remaining dough on top instead of trying to flatten it. It saved time and worked just as good. The rest of the dough that I didn't use, I formed it into a ball, rolled it out, and made cut out sugar cookies out of it. The dough also worked great as a sugar cookie dough! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This recipe is delicious!! I tried strawberry also and it was great. Also wonderful when heated with ice cream on top!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I can always count on Allrecipes.com!! I went to a party and the baker of these bar cookies would not give up the recipe....I have given several of mine & I thought there would be a trade. How rude. Allrecipes and Debbie came to my rescue...after only 10 mins of ingredient searching, I found it!! Now I can make this "secret recipe" any time I want. I WILL share this recipe to anyone who asks and show some recipe etiquette! I can giggle to myself that her "secret Recipe" is no longer a secret!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I love recipes that are simple, quick and delicious. These bars are perfect when you want an extra special bar cookie. When I made these I actually added an extra cup of butter for more richness, used seedless raspberry jam and baked them in a 12½ x 17-inch baking pan for about 40-45 minutes. I made them for our family Christmas party. They were a big hit as everyone loved them. My sister-in-law loved them so much she asked for the recipe. (She calls them 'The Big Booty Butter Bars'!) She made them for her family and to give away as treats to the neighbors. I will definitely make them again and I will use other fillings as suggested by another reviewer (although the raspberry jam is delightful!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soda Springs, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have made these several times, but with different kinds of jams every time. My favorite so far is blackberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Friends all beg for more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Cut this recipe in half and use an 8 x 8 pan. I made a batch and took them to work. Two co-workers asked for the recipe. You can use seedless jam, or preserves, and still have a good result. This is almost identical to a recipe I cut out of the newspaper 25+ years ago, but then lost. In the first recipe I had, you could add some chopped nuts to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I had a little trouble putting the extra batter on top of the jam, but overall these were delicious! Handy recipe too, with very few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I made this for my husband for father's day (he loves raspberries). It was easy to make, was o.k not the best I've had. They were very rich. I used non seeded raspberry jam (I hate the seeds).Don't know if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States