Depression Era Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is my go to chowder when I'm having a tight week with the grocery budget. I usually add some shredded Monterey Jack cheese and thicken it up with instant potato flakes. My kids love it and I even made it for Christmas Eve dinner last year with cornbread on the side. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I really enjoy this recipe because it is so basic and simple. I do us whole milk instead of evaporated milk because that is what I have. Also I add carrots and chicken. This would not be complete without cheddar cheese for a topping. I have cooked it in the crock pot and an electric pressure cooker with good results. It is a little more runny than I would like, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Very bland. Needs more seasoning. I added chicken, thyme, garlic, seasoned salt, and onion to mine, which made it much more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Loved this corn chowder! It really is even better the next day. Have made this many times, and will keep this in my fav file. Thanks Maineguy1979 for this great recipe! Only change I made was to double it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was a little thin but tasty. I cut up and fried some bacon in the pot first, then I added the onion and some celery. After the house started smelling yummy, I started the soup recipe mostly as written. I like to top our corn chowder with some paprika when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Total comfort food! Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Exactly how a simple and comforting corn chowder should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I served this at my gourmet grilled cheese party and it went over very well. We added a bit of garlic powder. 4 stars just because it's a bit thin for a cream soup and it does need a little extra seasoning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
LOVE!LOVE!LOVE!!! My additions were- about 2 TBS/each chopped green, orange, and red bell pepper,1TSP minced hot red pepper, 2 cloves chopped garlic, and about 2 TBS. minced celery leaves, plus about 1/2 c chopped steamed carrots leftover from the night before. Garnished with Hormel REAL bacon pieces, and chopped fresh scallion. Thank You SO MUCH for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Reminded me of corn chowder I would get when I was living in Maine! I cooked mine in a slow cooker for about 5 hours today, the potatoes were tender and the flavor was great. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katek2010
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States