Depression Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
WOW, first time go-i made this with the depression era corn and my guys actually loved a full night of depression :) next time im going to use brown sugar, i served it fresh out of the oven with chocolate ice cream on top, very easy to make and im a bad cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
My revisions, 1/2 cup of molassas and substitute currants for the raisens. Also, doubled up on the sugar. I kept my eye closely on this, as another commentor stated it was hard to get out of the pan. However, the molassas seems to slow down the process, and it took a full hour to bake to done. Worth the wait, and then some! Out of this world, chewy, rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I'm afraid I have to agree with the last reviewer as to why this is called "depression cake". I ate one slice of this cake and threw the rest away - talk about depressing! The flavour wasn't bad but the texture was brutal, it was very dry and tough. I can't see myself making this one again without some major changes, although I wouldn't even know where to begin. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Now I know why this is called Depression Cake -- it tastes awful! There is too much baking soda and not enough sugar. I won't be making this again, but if you're out of eggs and are going to try it, at least double the sugar and use 2 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda (instead of vice versa as stated in the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
Wonderful taste, though it refused to get out of the pan! I cut this cake into brownie-like pieces and removed them individually from the pan... made for a messy job, but I didn't mind... all the more crumbs to pick at! :-) Next time I'll use less sugar and raisins, and probably omit the allspice, because I prefer a more intense coffee flavour, and I found this to be rather sweet! Nevertheless, great recipe, and I WILL be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't tried it. Rich, moist, and so light! I added an extra 1/2 cup raisins and used 3/4 c. white sugar and 3/4 c. brown sugar. Finished by sprinkling confectioner's sugar over the cooled cake. A tip to cool the coffee mixture: partially fill sink with cold water; set pan in and stir until mixture cools (which it does quickly!) I also baked the cake in a pyrex 9 x 13 pan; it was done to a "T" after 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Delicious, and so easy! I added a cinnamon glaze to the top because the top was dry the next day, but it didn't really need the extra flavour - and inside was still very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
This cake hit the spot when I wanted something sweet but didn't have any eggs in the house. I can't believe how light, fluffy, and moist it turned out. It did take a long time for the coffee mixture to get to room temperature, but that's probably because I baked this cake on a very hot summer day. I think that this recipe would be a good one for people who don't bake to try, since it turned out fantastic even in my quirky oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States