Depression Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made this cake for my husband tonight who is to avoid dairy and egg to prepare for a medical procedure in a few days. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 8x8 pan. I omitted the raisins and added a pinch more of the cinnamon and nutmeg, also added 1/2 tsp ground ginger and 1 tsp vanilla extract. I let the liquid cool to a little warmer than room temperature and mixed in the flour and baking soda..I also added a pinch of salt. After baking, I allowed the cake to cook for 5 minutes then spread vanilla frosting from a can over the top so the frosting melted into a glaze. My husband was skeptical when I told him it was milk and egg less, lets just say that a little more than half the pan is now gone...and not by my doing this time! This is a great cake recipe for anybody with egg/dairy allergies or is vegan/vegetarian. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
My great grandmother used to make this and so did my mother!!!! I love this cake and glad to know its still being enjoyed today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I just had to try this as an experiment. For what it is, it's amazing. I took the suggestion of cooking the shortening/raisin/spice/sugar mixture the night before and just letting it sit with a lid on overnight. Worked great (and smelled lovely!). My mom LOVED this cake, unfortunately it was not to my liking (so my mom ended up eating the majority of it). The texture was really nice and moist. If I was growing up during the depression and eating ketchup and mayo sandwiches like my grandmother and great-aunt did, I probably would have thought this was such an amazing treat, however, my spoiled taste buds ruined this for me. Thank you for this recipe though, it was really cool to make! Very ingenious for containing no milk, eggs, or butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great recipe on this dreary day that just begged for baking but not going out to get eggs! Switched it up a bit by making a mixture of dried apricots (minced), craisins and raisins for the fruit and added the flour coated walnuts for crunch. My only suggestion is to add at least 1/2 teaspoon salt to cut the sweet just a bit. By instinct I added just a pinch, but it still could have used just a touch more. Otherwise a very nice spice cake...reminiscent of a fruit cake except MOIST and TASTY! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greece, New York, USA
Living In: Rogers, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Cooks up with the texture and flavor of Pumpkin Bread, but as though the cook forgot to add the pumkin. A good choice for those on strict allergy diets, but I'd give this one a pass otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Traynor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Came out very good. Surprisingly rich. Next time I might cut down on the sugar, though, because this was much sweeter than I expected. I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8 glass pan for just under 35 minutes and it worked well. Thanks for a great dairy-free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Suggestion: put hot mixture in freezer to cool, stir often. The first time I made this the hot liquid took hours to cool down. Butter cream frosting is delicious on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Great spice cake for someone with dairy and egg allergies. We omitted the raisins. Would be a nice cupcake with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I always have the items needed to make this in the pantry. It is wonderful and a nice dessert to make on a budget. With our grocery budget shrinking, it is nice to have a recipe for something sweet that doesn't require so many "extras". This cake is nice enough for company. It would also be nice with a cinnamon glaze drizzled on top, or some powederd sugar dusted on top - if you were trying to dress it up. We like it just the way it is. I use 1 cup water and 1 cup leftover coffee. Also I reduce the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. just because this is my own personal taste. I have made it both ways and I prefer less nutmeg, however my husband doesn't notice a difference when I do. Great served warm right out of the oven with a nice cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONMYST17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States