Department Store Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This soup was AMAZING! I did have to add a bit of sugar to my onions and cooked them for over 2 hours but it was well worth it! This recipe makes A LOT of soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poltzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was outstanding! I didn't have white wine, so I substituted a Chianti, and I think the wine is essential to the success of the recipe. I also used a blend of swiss, mozerella and parmesan cheese. I counted on leftovers for lunch tomorrow, but even my son who doesn't usually eat onions loved this, so there isn't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie
Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I added worcestershire and a little dijon because I usally add those to my onion soup. This recipe is outstanding. I am going to serve this at my dinner party next weekend. Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Takes some time, but definitely worth the outcome! I used 2 lbs red onions and 3 lbs yellow, and 2 quarts of beef broth and 1 quart of chicken broth....tasted great! Terrific winter meal w/ a salad! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is absolutely the BEST french onion soup out there! I did add about 1/2 cup of worcestershire and fresh mozz. cheese. Perfect, even my 2 year old daughter LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sayhi2julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was so very east to make and had a great flavor. The recipe I used to use took a full day to make, and was not as flavorful as this one ! It really made a splash at our holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Just what I was looking for! I didn't have the wine or browning sauce and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Easy Recipe Lover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Wells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Superb! Only little tweak I added was to put a very light spreading of dijon mustard on the french bread before I topped with the swiss cheese. Also added a dash of worcestershire as noted by previous reviewer (reduced salt accordingly). I also suspect that if you were out of white wine a few glugs of good sherry would work as well. You would NOT want to substitute red wine in this soup. Paired w/additional french bread and a bottle of Syrah. Lovely! The secret is giving the onions the full cooking time - this is an "all day" cooking soup but you'll love the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made this for 40 vegan servings. That translated to 17lbs of yellow onions to caramelize. It took quite a while, but I'm happy I took the time to get them nice and brown as it really made the taste. With that big of an adjustment to the sizing, I reduced the paprika from over 1/3 cup to a few tablespoons and think that was wise in the end. With the onions caramelized so well, I didn't require a browning sauce. It tasted so good that I was honestly scared to toss some balsamic vinegar in there or something and to wind up ruining 10 quarts of good soup. I used a good quality veggie bouillon to make the broth. It got tons of compliments from children and adults, most of whom were not vegans or vegetarians, and several of them said they liked the soup but didn't even like onions! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States